2015 Favourites.

“Only the ship is made of books, its sails thousands of overlapping pages, and the sea it floats upon is dark black ink.” – Erin Morgenstern.

It is the final day of 2015 which means that it is time to look back at what I have been enjoying most this year. I have already written an overview of 2015 which features my favourite blog posts and events. In this post I am going to be focusing on objects and I’m going to organise it my splitting it into Beauty, Nails and Books. Within these categories there will also be subcategories for which I will try my best to only have one favourite for, so I think we better get started!

BEAUTY –

In terms of beauty I have discovered a lot of products which I now absolutely adore, so it is hard to know where to start. I think the best way would be to basically go through the products in the roughly the order I would apply them:

Concealer and foundation.jpg

Under-eye concealer: Maybelline‘s The Eraser Eye concealer. This was only a recent purchase from earlier this month, but I love it already and am glad that I discovered this. This is a little more expensive than my Lasting Perfection concealer, the Eraser Eye is so much better for concealing under your eyes because it is also more brightening and the light shade is perfect for my skin tone. Out of desperation I did also use it once to conceal some of the redness on my face and I was rather impressed at what a good job it did.

Foundation: Rimmel‘s Match Perfection foundation. I don’t have much experience with foundation, in fact this is only the second one I have ever use, but I really love it. The shade I have is perfect for me and is easy to apply. It is a little runny when you pump it onto your hand, but that’s absolutely fine for me because I’ve always preferred a lighter coverage.

Concealer: Collection‘s Lasting Perfection concealer is definitely my all time favourite as a do-it-all concealer. While it doesn’t brighten under your eyes, it still does a really good job of concealing any dark circles. Furthermore, it’s good at concealing redness and hiding blemishes.

Powder and bronzer.jpg

Powder: Rimmel‘s Stay Matte powder. Powder is another thing I have never experimented much with. I picked up one my friend used and I’ve used is ever since and have now almost finished my third pot of it.

Bronzer: I have definitely experimented more with bronzer this year, although it is hard to narrow it down to my favourite. However, I am currently leaning more towards Tanya Burr‘s bronzer from her cheek palettes because it is so pigmented and blendable.

Blush and highlighter.jpg

Blusher: Due to having naturally rosy cheeks, I have never bothered much with blush. In fact, the first blush I ever bought was the one inside Tanya Burr‘s Rosy Flush cheek palette and because it was included I thought that I may as well brush a little onto my cheeks every now and then. As a result of this because one of the only brushes I have ever use, there is not a lot I can say on this topic, but for more information on this palette please click here.

Highlighter: No7‘s Instant Radiance highlighter. In December Boots were putting a different No7 product on offer every day, so as someone who only had the highlighter in the previously mentioned cheek palette to use, I decided to buy this highlighter. This is a cream highlighter so you can simply swipe it over your face and blend with your fingers. I may not have been enjoying this product all year, but I have been enjoying this lately and I do not see that changing for a while.

Eyeshadow primer: Urban Decay‘s Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Sin. Sin is the perfect primer for those shimmery eyeshadows because the primer has a lovely shimmer to it itself. Also, because of this, it would work as a pretty eyeshadow itself. Whenever I use this my eyeshadow never fails to stay on my lids. The colour does fade, nor does it crease. It is amazing.

Eyeshadow.jpg

Eyeshadow palette: I have bought a lot of palettes this year, but I think that my favourite has to be the first one I bought back in January. In fact, this was the first high-end palette I had ever bought. This is, of course, the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette. I have gotten so much use out of this throughout the year, no matter what new palette I have, I always go back to this one.

Eyeliner and mascara.jpg

Eyeliner: Bourjois’s Liner Stylo for my waterline and Soap and Glory‘s Super Cat Liner for the lid. Anyone who has been following me for a while will have seen that I have been using an eyeliner by Bourjois all year. However, this month I discovered this little gem by Soap and Glory. One of my best friends already used this product, so I decided to give it a go when I saw it in Boots and I love it. Applying eyeliner with this pen is so quick and easy, plus it seems to last a long time on the eye. My only con to this product is the unpleasant smell, though you only notice that when you’re applying the product, so it doesn’t linger. The former eyeliner was also a recent discovery this year as I always used to use pencil eyeliners which could irritate and scratch my waterline so the Liner Style is an excellent alternative.

Mascara: Benefit‘s Rollerlash mascara. After the hype this product received earlier this year I was still rather hesitant to buy it, but my mum bought it for me for my birthday and I have used it ever since. Of course, my birthday was a while ago now, so I mostly am just using the brush since it’s great at separating lashes, but I have already ordered a new one.

NAILS –

Top/base coat: Sally Hansen‘s Double Duty Base and Top Coat.

Nails and hands.jpg

Nail polish brand: Barry M, it just lasts so well on my nails and they have an incredible colour range with different finishes.

Nail care product: Burt’s Bees Cuticle Cream is definitely a favourite of mine with it’s gorgeous lemony scent. It also lasts a long time mine is a year old now and it’s still going!

BOOKS –

the night circusThis part of my favourites isn’t going to be split into genres or anything. Surprisingly, I have a clear favourite for this year and that is…

 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

I have a review up for this book here so do please read that if you’re interested in a good book, I definitely recommend it!

That is all for my favourites for this year. What are your favourites?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

6 thoughts on “2015 Favourites.

Leave a Reply

