Winter/Christmas Essentials.

“There are some wonderful aspects to Christmas. It’s magical. And each year, from at least November, well, September, well, if I’m honest, May, I look forward to it hugely.” – Miranda Hart.

Today I am going to be writing about my must-have items for these cooler months. Along with some of these items there will also be Christmassy alternatives, so it doesn’t matter how into the Christmas spirit you are, nor does it really matter whether you are reading this before or after Christmas.

My first essential is a pair of boots.

12405090_1023664444372404_602052812_o (1)I am sure that I speak for all of us when I say I hate having cold feet and with this colder weather warm, comfy boots are most definitely a winter essential. Mine are from New Look and they are incredibly comfortable and love them so much, I even mentioned them back in my September  Friday Favourites. Also, these boots come in a variety of colours and styles!

Next bootsAs a Christmassy alternative to my boots, I have my black heeled boots from Next. Black is a classic colour and therefore these boots are definitely perfect for any Christmas parties this season. The only downside to these boots is the fact that they are suede, but you can buy sprays which can protect the suede from water.

ScarvesMy next essential is a scarf. I absolutely love scarves and over the years  have actually gathered a small collection for myself. In the winter a lovely big, warm scarf is definitely a must, in my opinion, whether you leave the house or not. In the image to the right I have two scarves displayed, one more wintry, and one more Christmassy. You can easily tell them apart because I chose a thicker, darker coloured scarf for winter (this is also my Ravenclaw scarf, haha) and a thinner, lighter and more sparkly scarf for Christmas (this one was in fact a Christmas present from a couple of years ago).

Black CherryNext we are going to move onto lipstick.

As soon as the sky gets darker, so do my lips and lately it feels as though the sky is always dark, so it is hardly surprising that I will be picking a darker shade of lipstick here. My current favourite is Revlon‘s Black Cherry, a gorgeous purple shade with a bit of a shine.

Russian RedHowever, purple isn’t the most festive colour.

We all know that the most festive colour is red, so of course, to give lipstick a festive spin I have chosen a red lipstick. I spoke about my favourite red lipsticks for this season earlier this month, but if I was to narrow it down to one to be an essential, I would have to say MAC‘s Russian Red. This is a lovely darker shade of red with a blue undertone. It is also matte and long lasting, perfect for parties and to pair with a glittery eye.

WinterChristmas essential nail polishFor nail polish, a winter essential has to be a dark colour, so I have chosen Barry M‘s Black Pistachio. This is the perfect dark green. Seriously, it’s dark, almost black like the name suggests. I really love this nail polish and cannot get enough of it at the moment, although I have yet to create a design with it…

It’s not difficult to put a Christmassy spin on nail polish: simply add glitter! If you read my festive nail favourites post you will know that I have been loving Rimmel‘s Love Glitter nail polish top coats recently which are available in several varieties.

Christmas jumperMy final winter essential is something I almost actually forgot about: a jumper. As I have previously said, this time of year is so much colder, so warmer clothes are definitely necessary. Also, you can easily find Christmas jumpers for a Christmas alternative. This year I bought my second Christmas jumper, although it’s my first proper one and I love it so much. It’s also great that I am allowed to wear them everyday up until Christmas at work!

What are your winter and Christmas essentails? Is there anything important that I’ve missed? Please feel free to comment below!

Please click here for my previous blogmas posts.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

3 thoughts on “Winter/Christmas Essentials.

    • driftinglexi says:

      Hehe, I love it. Definitely! I’ve just had a read an really enjoyed it. Today just had a delivery of loads of Christmassy bath products! I’ve also been meaning to try some Soap and Glory products so I’ll definitely check that body butter out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

