Festive Favourites: Christmas Movies.

“Christmas is the keeping-place for memories of our innocence.” – Joan Mills.

I love Christmas movies and this year I have set myself a challenge to watch a Christmas movie everyday up until Christmas. We’re already over halfway through the month which means that I have now watched quite a few movies, therefore I think it’s time for me to judge which ones are my favourite which I thought would be more enjoyable than me listing the ones I have watched thus far.

It is really difficult to put these films into order of which I prefer. I do have an all-time favourite Christmas movie, but the others are not in any particular order.

One of my favourite Christmas movies has got to be Elf. Surely, this must be on everyone’s list, right? If it’s not, I’m going to assume it’s because you haven’t watched it, in which case you must! This movie stars Will Ferrell who is raised at the North Pole  as an elf and he goes to America to uncover who he really is. Also, one of the actresses in this movie is Zooey Deschanel who I absolutely love and for some reason I always forget that she is in it until I see her on-screen.

Another movie I love to watch at Christmas is Home Alone. Now, this movie is a part of a series, all of which revolve around a young boy who has been left home alone in some way who encounters trouble with some burglars. I loved the first film, the second was okay, the third was meh and the fourth was pretty terrible (they used the same characters from the first two films with different actors and basically messed everything up). For this reason, despite the temptation to watch the whole series, I would really only recommend the first two at most, but definitely the first one.

My third movie is another popular favourite and this is The Grinch starring Jim Carrey. The Grinch is a very disliked character in the village of Whoville due to his dislike of Christmas and on Christmas Eve he steals the town’s presents in order to ruin Christmas. However, he later realises that there is more to Christmas than presents and decorations.

This next movie I had actually completely forgotten about until I saw it on TV I think it was earlier this week. This movie is The Polar Express. This movie is an animation in which many of the voice-overs are done by Tom Hanks. Also, the funny thing about this film is that only one character has been given a name. This movie follows a young boy who is given a ride on The Polar Express to the North Pole. Throughout his journey, this boy learns about friendship and the spirit of Christmas.

My finale favourite is my all-time favourite Christmas movie and this is The Santa Clause. This is another film which is apart of a series, a trilogy in fact. I enjoyed the first two movies and while the third isn’t my favourite, I am still happy to watch it. This series stars Tim Allen who plays Santa, but he doesn’t start off as Santa. The first movie is about how he becomes Santa. Also, you may be looking at the title wondering why there is an ‘e’ on the end and that is because it isn’t referring to Santa Claus, the person, but to a clause in terms of writing and grammar. I just thought I’d point that out because it was only this year I actually noticed that!

So, those are my five favourite Christmas movies; what are yours? Please let me know in the comments below!

Also, this is the final post of my Festive Favourites series, but linked here are all of my previous posts including festive songs and beauty products.

There is now only a week left of blogmas and if you have missed my other posts for this challenge they are all here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

10 thoughts on “Festive Favourites: Christmas Movies.

  1. NaomiEdge17 says:

    I LOVE Love Actually and the Holiday and I’ve already watched them a good 3 times each this month I’d say? Haha. What I love thought is that although they’re kinda christmassy I can watch them anytime of year if i’m down and I often watch them between christmas and new year anyway. I also love Frozen after I watched it at the cinema last year, it’s so cute and cheesy I love it! It’s so my type of film as its got songs in it too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

