Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling.

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” – J. K. Rowling.

hpatgofAs many of you will be aware, throughout this year of have been rereading the Harry Potter series and reviewing them because the previous times I read them I never wrote down my thoughts.

You all know I absolutely love Harry Potter, but hopefully these reviews give you some insight as to why I and so many other people around the world love them. I have previously reviewed the Philosopher’s Stone, Chamber of Secrets and Prisoner of Azkaban, so I have linked to those reviews if you haven’t yet read them.

Lately, I have been in a bit of a reading slump, but fortunately Harry Potter has been able to lift me out of it. The Goblet of Fire is the fourth book in the series and is one of my favourites because of the introduction of new creatures, including fully-grown dragons and witches and wizards from other countries. I also feel that this book is somewhat appropriate for this time of year due to the fact that there is a Christmas party, the Yule Ball.

I still remember the first time I tried to read this book. Yes, tried. I will not lie, when I was younger, the size of it intimidated me. I had never read a book 636 pages long before! Also, I didn’t like the beginning because the book didn’t start with Harry like the previous ones. As a result, when I was younger I didn’t actually make it through the first chapter. However, now this is my fourth complete read of the entire book and it makes me laugh how I actually ended up loving it when years ago I had given up on it.

I always say that Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite book of the series, but I cannot deny that this one is very close to the top. I mean, this book has both Sirius and Dobby and other house elves! Furthermore, this book has a mystery with a surprising (at first read, of course) revelation at the end. Another aspect of the book I love are the tasks. They remind me of English Language lessons when I was eleven when we did creative writing and had to make up quests for the main characters we created to go on, so I love the sense of adventure the Triwizard Tournament brings to the book.

As with all the Harry Potter books, we also cannot forget the humour:

“Mum, you’ve given me Ginny’s new dress,” and Ron, holding it out to her.
“Of course I haven’t,” said Mrs Weasley. “That’s for you. Dress robes.”
What?” said Ron, looking horror-struck.

In contrast, Goblet of Fire is also the saddest book of the series so far because we encounter the first death of a character who the readers have grown to love. While this wasn’t enough to make me cry like some future deaths, it was still heartbreaking and I know people who did. In fact, I have a friend who argues that it was the saddest death of the series, although I don’t quite agree.

I always struggle when it comes to this part of the review for a Harry Potter book because this is the part where I usually point out any flaws, dislikes, or problems with the book. Can you think of any? My only issue is that the pages in my copy of the book are starting to fall out and had to be sellotaped back in…

Overall, I, unsurprisingly, rate this book 5/5.

What were your thoughts on Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire?

Please click here for more of my blogmas posts. 

Also click here for more of my Harry Potter reviews.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

7 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling.

  1. katpeskett says:

    I am so glad I’m not the only one! I was also put off of the book by the first chapter when I first tried to read it years ago. To my shame it took me until after I saw the film to go back and give it another go haha, glad I did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

