Boots and Superdrug Haul.

“‎Lipstick is really magical. It holds more than a waxy bit of color – it holds the promise of a brilliant smile, a brilliant day, both literally and figuratively.” – Roberta Gately.

Recently, I have probably been spending too much money on makeup for myself. The thing is, when you read blogs and watch videos by other people who love beauty, you easily and quickly grow to love the products they are using and want them for yourself. This also is not helped by the fact that I now work in a drugstore and am therefore surrounded by makeup at least five days a week.

Over the past two or three weeks I have made quite a few purchases. Some of these items are completely new things to me and others are repurchases. I was going to make this into a video for you all, but unfortunately I completely missed daylight today and didn’t get home (with makeup in tow) until half past five this evening. However, thankfully, I was still able to take some photos, even if they do have a slight orange tinge to them from my bedroom light.

I am going to start off this post with nail polish. Last year I bought so much nail polish, you could say I had an addiction, but this year it has been far more controlled and I haven’t bought as much. However, now in the last week I have bought five new nail polishes – it’s not my fault if both Rimmel and Barry M have had offers on! – and these are all pictured below.

Nail polish Dec 2015.jpg

The nail polishes by Rimmel are:

  • Blackout.
  • Mistletoe Mischief.
  • Tinsel Toes.

If you have read about my favourite Christmas nail polishes, you will have already heard about Mistletoe Mischief and because I was so impressed by the glitter in it, I decided to buy another shade in the range (Tinsel Toes). The black nail polish is one which always comes in handy, especially for nail art and because of the three-for-two deal I went for one by Rimmel.

The Barry M nails polishes are:

  • Black Pistachio.
  • Black Cherry.

These colours are basically very dark, almost black, shades of green and red. I especially love the green nail polish. These colours feel very wintry and if you’re interested in seeing what they look like on the nails, I have photos on my Instagram.

My next category is concealer:

Concealer Dec 2015.jpg

I ran into a little “emergency” last night when I spontaneously decided to stay over one of my best friends houses and I didn’t have any of my makeup with me. Because of this, we stopped at the closest supermarket where they only sold Maybelline makeup products, so I took this opportunity as my chance to try out their much talked about The Eraser Eye concealer.

I was always rather put off by this concealer because of the sponge and it didn’t look particularly hygienic. However, using it today, I think I like it. I don’t think I can give this product a fair trial at the moment though because, firstly, it’s only been one day, and secondly, due to staying over a friend’s house, my face didn’t have the usual care I would give it beforehand as this morning and last night I didn’t have my moisturiser with me.

The other two concealers pictured above are repurchases. These are the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer and Collection Lasting Perfection concealer. I buy two concealers because I use one for under my eyes and the other to cover blemishes, so now I have a lot of concealer, all brand new.

In addition to concealer, recently I have also tried a new eyeliner. In my Everyday Makeup Favourites post I mentioned how I have always used the Bourjois Liner Feutre, but Boots never seem to have it. Plus, because of the packaging, I am wary of buying it in shops because it is something people can easily open, therefore allowing it to dry out quicker, and test it on their hand, so after my research of makeup and expiration dates, I decided the best option would be to either order it online, or find an eyeliner with more secure packaging.

Supercat.jpg

This led to my decision to purchase Soap and Glory‘s Supercat Carbon Black Extreme Eyeliner Pen. I have never really been a Soap and Glory fan, so it isn’t surprising that I haven’t before used any of their products. However, one of my best friend’s uses this eyeliner, so I decided to give it a try. Plus, I have seen it crop up every now and then in the beauty blogger world.

Now that I have used this eyeliner a few times I actually really like it. It is so easy to apply and whenever I use it, it makes me want to do wings. I can’t help it nowadays. It just happens. My only con to this eyeliner is the smell; however, since the product obviously doesn’t sit below my nose, it isn’t too much of a bother except for when I’m applying it, so I can live with that.

The next category is lips: my favourite!

Lipstick Dec 2015.jpg

A few days ago I purchased my first ever NYX product as it is a new addition to Boots.com. I bought one of their Soft Matte Lip Creams in the shade Copenhagen. I selected this colour because it is one I have heard other bloggers talking about and it seemed perfect for winter. Now that I have used this product a few times I can say that I really like it. It has a sweet smell, is easy to apply (though at the same time I’m not overly keen on the applicater, but it’s a cheap product, so I can’t really complain) and once the cream has mattified it is so gorgeous and I love it. I have noticed that it isn’t the most long-lasting, but I love how matte it is, so I don’t really care and I have already ordered another lip cream in another shade.

The next two lip products are lip crayons by No7.The only reason I seem to have bought these is because they were only £4 each and were staring at me all day at work a week or two ago. Furthermore, if you bought two No7 beauty products, you’d receive a free gift box.

The shades of these lip crayons are Delicate Pink and Raspberry Wine. I have only worn Delicate Pink so far and I honestly wasn’t overly impressed with it. It was rather sheer and I found it to be quite drying on the lips, but I also don’t know if this was just because that was just before I was getting ill. Nevertheless, I will test these lip crayons a bit more soon.

In the free No7 gift box I received a blush, mascara, eyeshadow and also an eyeshadow brush (which I forgot to photograph).

No7 free gift 2015.jpg

Due to my lack of time I haven’t had a lot of opportunities to experiment much with these products; however, I am hoping to do a whole post dedicated to No7 makeup products some time in the future because I never have tried them much before.

The final category for this post is eyeshadow palettes. Yes, plural and yes, I bought both of them today (although in my defence, one of them was free).

Eyeshadow palettes inside Dec 2015.jpg

Makeup revolution ultra eyeshadowsThe palette on the left is the Makeup Revolution Ultra 32 Shade Palette Beyond Flawless. Yes, that’s right Siobhan, I finally bought it! I am so happy to finally have this palette after seeing so many posts about it, so I shall definitely be using this in the morning.

Run boy runThe palette on the right is the one I received for free and this is the Makeup Revolution Salvation Palette in Run Boy Run. I also very much look forward to getting some experimenting done with this palette.

Those are all the makeup products I have bought recently. I did tell you that I have spent too much money on makeup lately… Oops!

What makeup products have you been buying lately?

Have you tried any of the products I mentioned above, what are your thoughts on them?

Let me know in the comments below!

To see more of my blogmas posts please click here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

6 thoughts on “Boots and Superdrug Haul.

Leave a Reply

