The Bookish Christmas Tag.

At the moment I am working 5-6 days a week, so this does not leave a lot of time for reading. As a result, I am really struggling lately to get books read and reviews written. Fortunately, however, I can do book tags, so at least I can provide you all with something bookish to read, including this lovely tag recently invented by Callum McLaughlin, so thank you for tagging me to do this.

twilightFather Christmas: Name a book you received as a child that you treasure to this day.

I don’t actually own a lot of books I received as a child anymore. However, there is one from when I was eleven years old and while I am not a big fan of it anymore, I cannot deny that at the time I loved it.

Yes, this book is Twilight by Stephenie Meyer which I had received as a Christmas present from my nan.

The ghost of Christmas past: Is there a book or series you like to revisit each year at Christmas time?

Honestly, I usually have so many new books still to read by the end of the year that I don’t even consider rereading something. However, I do try and revisit Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling every one to three years, although I don’t plan it specifically for Christmas.

city of bonesChristmas tree: Name a series that reaches new heights with every entry.

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

I haven’t mentioned these books for quite a while it seems, but I absolutely love them and feel that they keep getting better and better with more extreme villains, the invention of new runes etc.

This is a rare thing to say, but I actually think that the last book in the series was one of my favourites.

Sharp Objects GFFriends and family: Name a book with fantastic characters.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn.

If you have read this book, you may be confused because you will be aware that there are extremely few likeable characters within this book.

However, I have chosen this book because of the unlikeable characters, such as Amma. Despite my dislike for a lot of the characters, it is undeniable that the way Flynn has written them is fantastic.

The HobbitDecorations: Name a book with a gorgeous cover you would proudly display on your shelves.

There are so many books I could use for this question, but The Hobbit was the lazy response as it was one of the first images I saw on my laptop when I opened the pictures folder.

I absolutely love this cover of the book and it is definitely my favourite out of all of The Hobbit covers which have been created. This book is also a hardback which only seems to make it more gorgeous.

Christmas cards: Name a book that carries a great message.

tmohtbiThe Manifesto on How to Be Interesting by Holly Bourne.

The message from this book teaches us the importance of being yourself and how you shouldn’t let your fear of how everyone else may react influence how you behave if it makes you happy and as long as you’re not causing any harm.

I feel like this is a really good message for people just starting secondary school because it’s at that age where you want to make a good impression to those who you’ll be seeing almost every day for the next five years and as a result, it can make people feel pressured to act a certain way in order to be “normal” and fit in.

FrankensteinIce and snow: Name a book that you were hoping to love but which ultimately left you feeling cold.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

I tried to love it, I wanted to love it, but the sad reality is that I didn’t love it.

It was incredibly written; however, all the detail and the descriptions just ended up boring me.

Christmas lunch: Name a book that was big and intimidating but oh so worth it in the end.

hpatgofI was considering using The Book Thief for this one, but I cannot recall actually being intimidated by this book, despite it being bigger than books I usually tend to read.

However, when I was younger I definitely remember being scared to read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire because of it’s length (little did I know that the next book in the series would be even longer). As I am sure that you can all agree, those 636 pages were definitely worth reading.

Mince pies: Name a book you found sweet and satisfying.

the night circusThis is another one of those questions where I feel that I have a lot of books at my disposal.

The temptation to go for Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is strong, but I don’t think I can get away with two Harry Potter responses in a row.

I am going to go with The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This is because three months later I still love this book so much and I remember being really satisfied and content with the way it ended, although I don’t feel that the words “sweet and satisfying” do the book justice.

Presents: What book do you wish you could give everyone to read?

Harry Potter IllustratedHarry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Illustrated Edition by J. K. Rowling and illustrated by Jim Kay.

This book is so pretty and gorgeous and beautiful. It is truly the perfect Christmas present. Also, everyone loves Harry Potter and let’s be honest, if you don’t like Harry Potter, you’re probably not someone I should be buying a Christmas present for.

Spreading the festive cheer: Tag some friends to help spread the festive bookish love.

I am going to tag:

Once again, thank you Callum for this tag!

Please click here for my other blogmas posts.

-drftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

9 thoughts on “The Bookish Christmas Tag.

Leave a Reply

