Festive Favourites: Christmas Songs.

“God put Santa Claus on earth to remind us that Christmas is ‘sposed to be a happy time.” – Bil Keane.

Except for a Fall Out Boy concert I attended, I have never spoken about music on my blog. However, for blogmas I thought it would be relevant to write about my favourite Christmas songs.

I am one of those few people who despises three Christmas songs which are extremely well loved and these are: All I Want for Christmas Is YouFairytale of New York and Last Christmas. So, if you opened this post hopeful that I would share the love of these songs, I’m sorry, but I really do not.

Nevertheless, there are still a lot of Christmas songs left which you all hopefully love too.

I tried my hardest to narrow these down – I aimed to get it to five – and then I tried to order them, but it was a real struggle. As a result, this list may be numbered, but the numbers do not indicate whether I loved one song more than another.

The six songs listed below are my all time favourite Christmas songs. I listen to them every single year and they always remind me of past Christmases and my childhood. I have also included YouTube links to the songs so that you can give them all a listen to whether it be your first or hundredth time hearing it.

  1. I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday by Wizzard.
  2. Merry Xmas Everybody by Slade.
  3. Happy Xmas (War is Over) by John Lennon.
  4. Do They Know It’s Christmas? by Band Aid.
  5. Santa Claus is Coming to Town by Jackson 5.
  6. Merry Christmas Everyone by Shakin’ Stevens.

Do you love any of these Christmas songs, or are there any you hate?

I would also like to give a little mention to the incredible Michael Buble. I mean, it’s hard not to think of him without thinking of Christmas. While his music isn’t on my must-listen-to list every year, I do still really like him and wouldn’t say no to giving him a listen during the festive season.

What is your favourite Christmas song?

Please click here for more of my Festive Favourites and here for previous blogmas posts.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

 

2 thoughts on “Festive Favourites: Christmas Songs.

Leave a Reply

