Festive Favourites: Red Lipsticks.

“What if Christmas, doesn’t come from a store. What if Christmas…perhaps…means a little bit more!” – Dr. Seuss.

Christmassy red lipstick favouritesA common favourite for the upcoming Christmas parties is a red lipstick, so today I am going to share with you all my favourite red lipsticks to wear this season.

These lipsticks are all pictured to the right, though there will be swatches of them at the end of this post.

First up is a lipstick I wore in my most recent video in which I did a Christmas Party makeup tutorial. This is the Rimmel London Color Rush Balm in The Redder the Better. This is a lovely bright red with a shine to it and a gorgeous vanilla scent. It is also rather moisturising on the lips and lasts well. Another thing I love about this product is that it is basically a big crayon which makes it easy to apply as you’re just colouring in your lips.

Another favourite red of mine is L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Exclusive Reds in Eva’s shade. In my opinion, this is a more daytime suitable red, although it does still stand out. However, I would describe this as being a more muddy red. I love wearing this in the day around this time of the year because it’s not too bright and feels like a slightly more casual red.

Surprise, surprise, this next one is another Rimmel lipstick. I must say, Rimmel are my go-to brand for a drugstore lipstick. This lipstick is their Kate Lasting Finish Lipstick in the shade 01. This is a darker red with a shine and is more blue-toned than the first lipstick of this post, therefore making it ideal if you fancied something a shade darker. Also, as the name suggests, it is long lasting.

While the more glossy lipsticks do have a certain festive feel to them, so do mattes. This is very much due to the fact that matte lipsticks are more long lasting and are therefore more likely to survive a Christmas party full of food and drink. As a result of this, my next two favourites are from the Rimmel Kate Matte Lipstick range in the shades 110 and 107.

110 is a bright matte red. Meanwhile 107 (which many of you are likely to be very familiar with by now) is a darker, purple toned matte red. Both of these lipstick are impressively long lasting, aren’t too drying on the lips and have a lovely scent.

Carrying on with matte lipsticks, my final festive red favourite is MAC‘s Russian Red. This is a bright and bold, blue toned red lipstick also with a delicious vanilla scent. Similar to the previous lipsticks it isn’t too drying for a matte and is long lasting. All of the lipsticks mentioned above are ones I have owned for quite a while now; however Russian Red is a more recent addition to my lipstick collection, so I do expect to be wearing this lipstick more than the other’s this season.

Now that I have told you all about my favourite lipsticks I bet you’re itching to see what they look like and how they compare in appearance, so swatched in the same order they are written about above, here are the lipsticks:

Christmassy red lipstick favourites swatches.jpg

Christmassy red lipstick favourites detail.jpg

So those are my favourite red lipsticks for Christmas, what are yours?

To see more of my Festive Favourites please click hereor click here for my other blogmas posts.

Also, if you’re interested in seeing some tips on how to get your lipstick to last longer please click here.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

6 thoughts on “Festive Favourites: Red Lipsticks.

Leave a Reply

