Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn.

“People are dumb. I’ll never get over how dumb people are.” – Gillian Flynn.

The Grownup is most definitely not a Christmassy read; however, I said that I was posting everyday for blogmas and I haven’t yet read anything Chritmassy. For my other, more Christmas related, blogmas posts click here.

the grownupRecently, Flynn released a short story quite different to the larger novels she has previously written. Rather than being a crime book, The Grownup is very much a thriller. It has mystery, suspense and even horror. While Flynn never fails to give me the creeps with her writing (meant in the very best way), this book was, to a small extent scary. More specifically, I was scared for the main character.

The Grownup follows a woman who works part-time as a psychic and part-time as a woman who gives handjobs. When Susan comes to visit the psychic, she is worried about her home, worried that something evil lurks there. The woman tells Susan what she wants to hear and while he doesn’t believe in the paranormal, when she agrees to cleanse Susan’s house, she begins to feel the evil too.

As with all of Flynn’s work, this book get’s dark and disturbing. Additionally, The Grownup has several twists that by the end of the book, I’m really not sure what to believe. Miles is a very unlikeable character (Flynn is amazing at creating interesting, but intentionally unlikeable characters) who I am very suspicious of and in terms of the ending, I’m not sure how this makes me feel. I mean, I want to know all the answers!

However, the way Flynn left it is rather clever because it leaves you wanting more and with a little more of that suspense and horror aspect.

Flynn is possibly one of my favourite authors because disturbing as it is, I love how dark and creepy her writing is. I just find it really interesting to read and I love all the suspense she creates with her writing and her wonderful plot twists. She is definitely one of those authors where I would most likely buy any and all books she publishes in the future.

I really liked this book and similar to all of her works, I found it a gripping and fast read and rate it 4/5.

What were your thoughts on The Grownup?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

8 thoughts on “Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn.

  1. mainellss says:

    I loved it! I still don’t know what to believe and I’m still thinking about it even after reading it over a week. I am also so in love with Gillian Flynn’s writing. I will buy every book she ever comes out, and I’m hoping she comes out with more material soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

