Makeup Has an Expiry Date.

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach!” – Charles Dickens.

As a massive makeup lover who uses several different types of products on my face basically everyday, I felt that this was an appropriate subject to talk about, especially since we’re nearing Christmas. I never used to think of makeup products as having expiration dates, so this is something I only found out a few months ago which means that it is likely you weren’t aware of it either. Or, you may be aware of it, but you may not be sure of when your products’ expiry dates are.

I also decided to write this post now because it is almost Christmas. While there are plenty of beauty products I know we’re all lusting over this season (and every season), we need to be sensible. I mean, do we really need two new mascaras when they only last six months? Besides, even if there wasn’t an expiry date, mascaras do dry out, so I always try and only have one open at a time.

All of the sales around Christmas including Black Friday and Boxing Day, make the purchasing of beauty products even more tempting. However, finding out about expiration dates in regards to makeup has given me a new outlook when shopping. I mean, if an eyeshadow palette only lasts a year, it’s a bit of waste to buy several around the same time, right?

Before I get too far into this, I would also like to address that even if the makeup item says it expires after eight months, for example, it doesn’t necessarily mean you have to get rid of it. Be rational.

Does the product look right? Does it smell right? Does it feel right?

If we threw it out as soon as the time was up, I’d probably never buy an expensive eyeshadow palette again unless I became a millionaire! For instance, my Urban Decay Naked palette says twelve months, but I have barely made a dent in it after eleven, so unless I find anything off about the product, I am going to deem it safe enough for me to use. After all, I don’t feel that a £38 palette is worth it if it will only last a year, unless it was the only eyeshadow I used the entire time.

Our eyes are a sensitive area and they are very important and fragile. As a result, it is important to protect them when possible and to avoid irritating them. Lots of eyeshadow palettes expire about one year after being opened. I don’t think I could ever finish a whole palette in a year, and I wouldn’t want to considering how much some of them cost. Using expired products can lessen the quality of said product, lead to breakouts and cause irritation. In terms of eye products, bacteria can also build up in expired makeup products and this can lead to infections

It’s always good to be careful with whatever you are using. If you have a product you’ve had for a long time, it never hurts to be wary of it before using it, especially if the expiration date has rubbed off. As a result, a good way to prolong the life of your makeup is to store it correctly. Keep it in a cool dry place, as advised, and always keep it closed if it’s not in use.

2015-12-03 14.02.53If you are unsure as to what the expiration date for a product is, it will usually say on the back.

There will be a little image of a container (pictured to the right) and either within it, or in small writing next to it there will be a number next to the letter ‘M’, which tells you how many months that product will last after having been opened.

As a rough guide, this is an approximate amount of time for how long certain products last once opened:

  • Foundation/concealer = 6 – 12months
  • Powder (including eyeshadows and blush) = 12 – 30 months
  • Mascara = 6 months
  • Lipstick = 12 – 18 months.

Another way to prevent irritation and the spreading of bacteria around your face is by regularly cleaning your brushes. Now, I won’t be the first, nor will I be the last, to admit that I do not clean my brushes as often as I should. However, you should aim to clean them approximately every two weeks.

I hope that this post was informative and that you all take care.

A final message before I sign off: last night I made the decision that I am going to do blogmas. This means posting every day of December up until Christmas. I mean, I try and post about six times a week anyway, so what’s one more day a week? I’m hoping that this will include some more book reviews (maybe even books with a Christmas theme) and some other Christmas posts and at the end of each post I will link back to my other posts for blogmas, so that none of you miss out on anything exciting.

Day one.
Day two.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

7 thoughts on “Makeup Has an Expiry Date.

    • driftinglexi says:

      Aw no! I know, over the summer I found an old lipstick and had to throw it out basically straight away when I later found out that it was probably no good anymore, so I never got to actually wear it. That is very true!

      Like

Leave a Reply

