November Book Haul.

“Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.” – John Green.

I really do not know where this month has gone. I really think that aside from blogging and making videos, all I have done this month is work. I don’t even work that much too, only eight and a half hours a week, but I can’t remember doing much else. Even at work though it’s been a little interesting as this month I’ve encountered both my old manager and my old geography teacher, oh and also my ex-best friend (which was extremely weird and oddly relieving).

This month I have bought five books which is more than last month, but fewer than other months. Nevertheless, I do still have plenty of books to read. Also, these five books are all ones which I am very excited to read, so I am thinking that I shall have to move them closer to the top of my TBR stack on my bedside table.

Books 1-3.pngBooks 3-5.png

illuminaeIlluminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff:

Illuminae was only released last month, but I have seen lots of mentions of it by booktubers and it has made me really intrigued.

Then saw this book in Waterstones and it looked so interesting with all of the different and unique pages. I also loved how at the bottom of each page is tells you the page number out of the total number of pages (it isn’t unheard of for me to flick to the last page to see how many there are and then end up reading the last page prematurely, so this prevents me from doing that).

As with all my previous book haul posts, I have taken the synopsis of the book from Goodreads for you all to read:

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

the fifth waveThe Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey:

I picked this book up for two reasons: firstly, I saw a lot of love of it on twitter, especially on one account in particular and secondly, because it is being turned into a movie, so I want to ensure that I have enough time to read it before that is out.

Taken from Goodreads, here is what it’s about:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

the rest of us just live hereThe Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness:

I will not deny that I am a fan of Ness’ writing, so it is hardly a surprise that I picked up his latest release. Also, did you hear that he is writing the spin-off for Doctor Who?!

The Rest of Us Just Live Here is a beautiful book and as you can see in the photos at the top of this post, it has brilliant bright yellow pages!

This book is different to basically all those you’ve read before. This is because this book isn’t about the hero. This book is about the “normal” people in those books, the people in the background of the hero’s life. I am really excited about reading this book because it sounds like something that will be relateable and interesting.

queen of shadowsQueen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas:

This is the most recent release in the Throne of Glass series. I haven’t actually started this series yet, so I am really hoping that I enjoy it enough that I reach this book. After all, I have heard plenty of positive things about this entire series.

Due to not having read any of this series yet, I am not going to insert a description because if you have read the other books, chances are you won’t need any persuasion to read this one and if you haven’t read any of them, I think it is highly likely that you will just skim over a summary of the fourth book in the series.

i am the messengerI Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak:

Zusak is also the author of The Book Thief, a book I greatly enjoyed and would definitely recommend. As a result, I am very much looking forward to reading another book of his.

Here is Goodreads‘ description of the book:

Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He’s pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery.

That’s when the first ace arrives in the mail.

That’s when Ed becomes the messenger.

Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary) until only one question remains: Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

Those are all of the books I have bought this month, have you read any of them? What were your thoughts?

What books did you buy throughout November?

Let me know in the comments below!

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

2 thoughts on “November Book Haul.

Leave a Reply

