Review: The Sisters by Claire Douglas.

the sistersI received The Sisters through a giveaway hosted on Goodreads. I was incredibly excited when I heard that I won (I’ve never won anything before) and I was practically jumping around with excitement when it finally arrived.

Due to other reading commitments and then work, it took me a little while to get started on this book, but I’ve properly been reading it the past couple of nights where I have been having trouble sleeping, but at least I had something good to read.

This book follows Abi whose twin sister died in an accident. Abi befriends a girl who closely resembles her sister in both appearance and particular aspects of her personality; however as she becomes involved with her new friend’s twin brother, strange things are happening: items going missing, horrible messages and nasty gifts. The book is written in third person, shifting between the perspectives of Abi, Beatrice and Ben, but who can we trust?

I really enjoyed this book and I am not just saying that because I won it. I love crime books and thrillers because it is so easy to become engrossed in a story when there is a mystery to it. I had no idea where this book was going to take me, and I am rather shocked at the turn it took. These characters have their own secrets and I expected a lot of different outcomes, but not this. Obviously, I am not going to spoil this for anyone, but if you have read this do let me know, so I can discuss it with someone.

There wasn’t much I disliked about the book, so I’m going to gloss over small aspects I didn’t like. For example, the characters in this book I didn’t feel represented their age. When I was reading I just didn’t feel like all these characters were in their thirties, they felt about ten years younger. Of course, at nineteen years old I have no idea what thirty feels like, but I couldn’t help imagining the characters younger than they were written.

A second thing I wasn’t particularly keen on was that I don’t feel I have grasped the best understanding of Abi’s character. I want to love her, of course I do, she’s the main character. However, I don’t feel like I understand her very well. I’m not sure I understand the way it ended because I feel like she’s in a bit of a continuous cycle. Lucy, Alicia, Beatrice, Ingrid… I don’t know what to make of it. Although, the ending wasn’t all bad because I was surprisingly happy with what happened in regards to Beatrice and Ben.

I really enjoyed Douglas’ writing. It was well-paced, the characters well-written and the whole plot well thought out. This book is twisted and disturbing, but in a good way as it makes it an interesting read you don’t want to put down. Every time of picked up the book I was then lost in it for at least an hour at a time and I would only stop because it would reach 3 am.

I did struggle to pick out any quotes from this book to use for this review, but nevertheless, I loved this book and it is easily one of my favourites for this year. I rate this book 5/5 and definitely recommend it if you’re into crime and psychological thrillers.

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sisters by Claire Douglas.

Leave a Reply

