The Unpopular Opinion Book Tag.

Everyone is different, so there will always be situations in which you’re going to hate something others love and love something others hate. Rather than be embarrassed of having a different opinion, we should embrace them because you never know who else feels similarly and what other things these opinions can lead to, such as new books.

The unpopular opinion book tag is something I have been wanting to do for a while and although I have not been tagged, I have decided to do it for today’s Tag Tuesday.

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

beautiful creaturesBeautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

Of course, this isn’t the most popular book, but it has got a lot of good reviews and was liked enough to be made into a movie.

Personally, I really did not enjoy this book. My review of it is linked to the book cover, but to put it simply, I found this book to be too long and dull. I think it had potential, but in the end, every time I picked it up I dreaded flicking through the pages, but I was also determined to see what the fuss was about. Needless to say, I was disappointed.

love letters to the dead2. A popular book that everyone hates, but you love.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira.

It’s not that everybody hates this book, but I think they generally agree that it is okay.

I, on the other hand, really enjoyed this book and would defnitely recommend it to people who enjoyed The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I agree that it s not as good, but I still loved it very much.

3. A love triangle where your ship did not sail.

vampire diariesIn quite a lot of cases, the couple I ship do tend to be endgame. As a result, I was puzzling over this question for a long time. One triangle which came to mind is Elena, Stefan and Damon from The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith. In the books, it was clearly leaning towards Elena and Damon ending up together, but then they got a ghost writer in to steer Elena back towards Stefan. However, as the series has gone on, I have been enjoying the series less and less. Because of this, I want to stay loyal to the original author’s writing, and while I totally shipped Elena and Stefan, Smith always appeared to want Elena and Damon together.

4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for.

Historical fiction; it’s not something I actively seek out.

5. A beloved character you didn’t like.

hpatdhSeverus Snape from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

In particular, I am referring to the final book, Deathly Hallows, where everything about this character is uncovered, yet still I find it difficult to feel for him.

So many people ended up loving him by the end of the series, but I still struggle to justify his actions. After over a decade, he still couldn’t let go of incidents which had happened during his school days and just because you loathed someone, doesn’t mean you can take it out on their children.

6. A popular author you can’t get into.

No one really springs to mind for this one, but I’m sure that I’ll be able to update this someday.

7. A popular book series that you have no interest in reading.

50 Shades of Grey… Does that count as popular?

dear john8. An adaptation you like better than the book.

In terms of TV shows: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shephard..

For movies: Dear John by Nicholas Sparks.

The Pretty Little Liars series goes on for way too long. I eventually started reading them only because I had read the others and not because I enjoyed them and before long I had given up on them altogether, so I haven’t read the last two books at least. Meanwhile, despite the show’s ups and downs throughout the seasons, I have always loved it.

Dear John I found incredibly hard to get into and I just did not enjoy it as much as Sparks’ other novels. The movie however, I really enjoyed. Then again, it did star Amanda Seyfried and Channing Tatum, two actors I love, so I may be a little biased.

Since I have not been tagged for this, I am not going to tag anybody, but if you are interested in doing this tag I encourage you to do it and leave a link below so that I can see your opinions.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

Leave a Reply

