Happy Halloween!

“Every Halloween I missed being a kid, getting to dress up and eat tons of candy. The only thing I got to do now was…eat tones of Candy. Not half bad” – Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Lately there have been no shortage of posts relating to Autumn, but one thing I never mentioned was my love for Halloween. This may be a strange thing to say coming from someone who hates dressing up. However, I love horrors and thrillers and the supernatural whether this be movies, TV shows, or books.

I would also like to acknowledge that Halloween is the anniversary of James and Lily Potter’s death, so there’s my little Harry Potter reference.

Another thing I like about Halloween is the makeup. YouTube is currently crawling with an abundance of Halloween related content. As I mentioned, I am not a fan of wearing costumes, so Halloween makeup for me just means making things a bit darker.

Halloween purpleThis Halloween I did a little experimenting. I originally was going to go fully green and black, but I didn’t have a fitting lipstick over than a nude which I didn’t feel was going to cut it for Halloween. As a result, I went for purple because I had the perfect dark purple lipstick which I had been intending to wear today. I considered going a bit darker on the eyes, but I wasn’t actually going out and I worried that it would have been too much paired with the dark lip.

Halloween purple side viewThis lipstick is by MAC in the shade Smoked Purple. This is one of their matte lipsticks and one which I mentioned in my Autumn Lipstick Favourites post.

My only fault with this lipstick is that it can be rather difficult to apply; I always have to use a lip brush as the lipstick is rather stiff and drying. Nevertheless, it is a lovely deep purple, perfect for Halloween and parties as the nights grow colder and longer around this time of the year.

The rest of my Halloween has been spent doing a little reading (Frankenstein) and I am currently watching Strictly Come Dancing, I love it when shows have a Halloween special! Plus, I spy a Harry Potter inspired costume, so I am excited to see that dance! Once this is over an evening of Doctor Who, then horror movies will begin!

What are you doing to celebrate Halloween?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin‘ | YouTube

12 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

