October Collective Haul.

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” – L. M. Montgomery.

Very surprisingly, I bought very few books this month. I bought one book as a Christmas present for a friend, and the exact same book for myself. Then my mum bought me a book near the end of the month. That’s it. Two books for myself. This has got to be some kind of record! As a result, I decided that I am going to share other things I have bought throughout the month in addition to my books.

Harry Potter IllustratedHarry Potter: Illustrated Edition.

I am sure that many of you have heard by now that early this month a new Harry Potter book was released. It wasn’t a new story with a new adventure, but it was the first book of the series with lots and lots of illustrations. What can I say? It’s beautiful.

There are magnificent pictures, some of which take up whole pages and there are even additional pages, but I won’t spoil the surprise on what those are about; you’ll know them when you see them. I definitely recommend this book for anybody who is a massive Harry Potter fan, or even anyone with young children who I am sure would really enjoy all of the illustrations.

My second book for this month is Girl Online On Tour by Zoe Sugg.

girl online on tourI really enjoyed Zoe’s first book (reviewed here) and I regretted not buying it sooner. However, it did mean that I had a shorter wait until the release of Girl Online On Tour, so that doesn’t bother me too much.

I have actually already read this. I received it last Friday, read a couple of chapters and then dedicated the whole of Sunday to it. Usually, I just add new books to the bottom of the pile on my bedside table, but this was one book I was looking forward to, so I had to read it almost straight away. As a result, since buying it, I have had time to read all of it and review it so please click here to read my review for Girl Online On Tour.

OctoberThe rest of this post now is, unfortunately, not book related. However, I did manage to grab more beauty products than I expected this month.

Three lipsticks in one month? Lucky me! But we’ll get to that later…

Blue converseConverse.

Tragically, my black converses ripped earlier this month after I attended a Fall Out Boy concert (which was incredible), but as a result I needed some new ones for everyday wear, especially when I ripped my red ones last year and never replaced them.

I swear in the last few years converses have grown more and more expensive, so I had to put these on my mum’s Next card and Next were sadly out of black ones, so I had to settle for blue. Either way, I’m still happy because I have never had converses in this colour before and it’s good to mix things up a bit sometimes. At least blue goes with everything and because they are so dark I wouldn’t be surprised if they ever get mistaken for black.

Yellow check shirtCheck shirts.

I actually bought two check shirts this month, but the second is in the wash from where I’ve been wearing it so much. I have loads of check shirts now, but I can never resist buying more! Plaid is definitely my favourite kind of pattern. This month I bought this yellow one pictured on the right and a grey one.

One thing people always get obsessed about this time of the year is plaid. I don’t understand it’s connection with this time of year opposed to any other, but at the same time I am all for wearing lots of it!

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer.Wake Me Up concealer

This product is a repeat purchase because it is one of my favourite concealers.

I use this concealer to help brighten up areas of my face and I use it on days I try to wear minimal makeup in order to help cover redness and even out my skin-tone a bit. This makes this particular concealer ideal because it is light in terms of it being brightening and in terms of coverage as it doesn’t dry my skin out as much as other concealers.

rimmel the only 1 lipstickRimmel The Only 1 Lipstick.

Earlier this week I wrote a detailed review on this lipstick so I am not going to go in a lot of detail now. I am simply going to say that I really like this lipstick, because it has great staying power, great colour and not too bad a scent (smell is important to me).

Also, for those interested, this lipstick is in the shade 810 “One-of-a-Kind” and there are more images including a swatch of this lipstick included in the review linked above.

Black cherryRevlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in the shade Black Cherry.

As you already saw from my autumn lipstick favourites, I love dark, purple-toned lipsticks and my latest purchase is no exception.

Revlon lipsticks are not exactly my favourite lipsticks, plus they don’t have the lovely vanilla scent like lots of other brands, but they do have a good colour selection. As a result of this, every now and then I have to give in and buy one of their lipsticks.

Black cherry swatchBlack Cherry is, in my opinion, another one of those very autumnal lipsticks. However, it is definitely darker and more purple than any of the red lipsticks I mentioned  in that post, so while it does have a reddish undertone, it is more dominantly purple.

SultryRevlon ColorBurst Matte Balm in the shade Sultry.

I have tried Revlon‘s ColorBurst Balms twice before, so I currently have slightly mixed expectations for this product. The matte balm I already had I found to be quite patchy on the lips and the other balm I had (not matte) in the shade Honey I really like and it was one I wore almost everyday to college. As a result I was a little anxious to try this lipstick because I really wanted to like it, but I didn’t want to be disappointed.

Due to my anxiousness to try it, I did a swatch of it on my lips and I am happy to say that I really like it.

Sultry swatchAs I mentioned, the formula is matte, but it isn’t like my previous experience with the Revlon matte balms. This balm isn’t patchy on my lips, has great colour pay-off and it leaves my lips feeling extremely soft.

Similar to the other Revlon ColorBurst Balms, this product has a mint scent, but it isn’t noticeable except for when you’re actually applying the product which is quite nice. The shade I bought, Sultry, wasn’t exactly how I expected it, but I am not disappointed either. I expected it to be a bit more of a nude brown, but it’s actually rather pink. In fact, it reminds me a little of a darker, matte version of Tanya Burr’s lipgloss in Berry Picking.

Overall, I am very happy with all of the products I have purchased this month. The illustrated Harry Potter was definitely worth the money, Girl Online On Tour I had been looking forward to reading ever since I read Zoe’s first book, check shirts are just necessary in my everyday wardrobe and all of the makeup items did not let me down.

Tell me, what did you purchase this month?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “October Collective Haul.

  1. beautyandthelook1 says:

    The lipstick in ‘black chery’ looks so nice! I have been wanting to try the wake me up concealer but haven’t yet.. I think I might do though! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

