The Autumn Book Tag.

As a lover of autumn I was very happy to have been tagged for this, so thank you very much for tagging me Callum McLaughlin.

1. What is your favourite thing about autumn?

There is a lot I love about autumn: the colours associated with this time of year, the trees, the weather getting cooler, but still having some warmer days. Above all, I love this time of year for reading. On those colder, rainy days I feel so content just sat surrounded by pillows and a comfy jumper and a good book. Meanwhile, on the dryer and slightly warmer days I love going out and seeing the beauty that is autumn. Furthermore, autumn means Halloween and I do quite enjoy a horror/Halloween movie or two.

of mice and men2. What book reminds you of your school days?

A few really. The first book which comes to mind is the classic Of Mice and Men which basically everybody in this country has to read for GCSE English. Unfortunately, my copy is tainted by my brother’s days of studying the book at school, so it is covered in highlighter pen. The second book I remember reading is Lord of the Flies by William Golding and I remember absolutely loathing this book. The book was so dull and boring and while the descriptions were good, they were far too long and frequent throughout the book.

me earl etc3. What book cover reminds you of autumn?

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews.

I chose this book mostly because of the trees and the orange tinge to the green in the middle third of the cover. Additionally, the orange and red tones in the bottom third are rather autumnal as the shades aren’t too bright.

the woman in black4. What is your favourite horror or Halloween story?

The Woman in Black by Susan Hill.

Honestly, I have only read three horror stories before, so I suppose that makes this quite easy. Two books were written by Susan Hill, but I only really enjoyed one of them so The Woman in Black it is!

Also, I don’t count John Dies at the End as a horror story; it was just too weird. Either way, it wouldn’t be my favourite.

5. What is your favourite horror or Halloween film?

I enjoy a good horror movie, but I haven’t really found one that I really like. This has proved difficult because I don’t seem to scare easily. However, I love Halloween and my favourite Halloween film for sure is Hocus Pocus! I have to watch it every year, preferably on Halloween night itself.

6. What fall book release are you most looking forward to?

There are a lot of books being released this season so this is tricky. Firstly, I am excited for Harry Potter, the illustrated edition, although that has been out for a little while now and I do already own it. Similarly, I was excited for Carry On by Rainbow Rowell as Carry On is actually a book from Rowell’s book Fangirl which I greatly enjoyed. There are more I was looking forward to, such as Rick Riordan’s new book, but those two I was anticipating the most.

7. What autumn movie release are you most anticipating?

I am personally more of a TV show kind of person, so I’ve had to do a little research for this question as I struggle to stay up to date with movies. However, my research did remind me that Pan was released this month which I had been excited about for a while.

8. What are three books you plan to read this autumn?

  • The Sisters by Claire Douglas.
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling (reread).
  • Either Dracula or Frankenstein; we are approaching Halloween, afterall.

Those are all my responses to all the tag questions and now I am going to tag three people:

I hope you enjoyed this tag as much as I enjoyed writing it and if you did feel free to follow me here and on my other social media sites below.

Also, please leave a comment and let me know whether you think I should read Dracula or Frankenstein first.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “The Autumn Book Tag.

Leave a Reply

