Rimmel London The Only 1 Lipstick.

“Beauty, to me, is about being comfortable in your own skin. That, or a kick-ass red lipstick.” – Gwyneth Paltrow.

That’s right, another lipstick review and if you missed my last one please click here.

rimmel the only 1 lipstickRimmel have recently released a new lipstick collection called “The Only 1” which consists of fifteen different shades with a wide colour range. These lipsticks are priced at £6.99 in Boots and described as:

A no compromise all-in-one lipstick. For long-lasting colour, comfort, moisture and wear.
The perfect balance of high impact colour, moisture, all day comfort and staying power. Slanted lipstick bullet for an effortless application.

My first thoughts in regards to the lipstick was the packaging. I quite like the packaging except it can be slightly difficult to open because the lid is rather big. This reminds me of the Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butters because you have to grip the very bottom of the tube in order to pull off the lid. This doesn’t make these lipsticks the most convenient products to use, especially in a hurry, but altogether it isn’t much of an issue.

one of a kind lipstick 3one of a kind lipstick 2When you open the lipstick, you can see that the lipstick itself, the bullet, is slanted and while above it claims it’s for “effortless application” I actually find this design a little more tricky to apply, especially on my top lip. Personally, I prefer when the top of the slant is pointed rather than rounded. However, similar to the packaging, this isn’t enough to put me off the lipstick and it’s something I can still easily deal with, even if it does take slightly longer for me to get my lipstick exactly right.

one of a kind lipstick 4The lipstick itself has a lovely formula which feels moisturising and is long lasting, as the description says. It also has a somewhat nice scent; it is the same as all Rimmel lipsticks, but possibly a bit stronger.

At the convention last weekend I wore this lipstick on the way there and it lasted from midday until midnight when I was scrubbing it off my lips. This means that it lasted through pizza and ice cream and even through a party with only one touch up. I remember checking my lipstick a lot throughout the day because I wanted to see how it was getting on and except for after my trip to Pizza Hut, I didn’t touch it up again.

Since I was wearing it for a long time it did stain my lips which is probably why it was a pain to remove before I went to bed, but overall I was very satisfied with this lipstick because I’d rather have to work harder to remove it than it come off without my knowledge early in the day.

one of a kind lipstickThe shade I bought this lipstick in is 810 “One-of-a-Kind”. This is a dark red with a pink undertone.

What I like about this lipstick is that it is a berry lipstick, but without the hint of purple which a lot of red-toned berry lipsticks have, therefore offering a shade I don’t already have to my collection.

Also, due to the lack of purple I think that this is an easier lipstick to wear for those who are not used to dark colours, plus the formula is not matte which helps make it less harsh against your skin.

Below is a swatch of “One-of-a-Kind” and as you can see it is  dark red. I don’t think it shows in the photo, but there is a pink undertone, giving off a ruby red kind of shade.

one of a kind lipstick swatch

Unfortunately, I do not have any other shades from this collection to show, but I was very impressed by these lipsticks and would definitely consider purchasing more of them.

What are your thoughts on the Rimmel London The Only 1 Lipstick?

Let me know in the comments below and please follow for more in-depth reviews on beauty products (mostly lipsticks, let’s be honest) as well as on books.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Rimmel London The Only 1 Lipstick.

Leave a Reply

