Review: Girl Online On Tour by Zoe Sugg.

girl online on tour“We all have one life, and we can choose how we want to live it. It’s important to realise that, no matter what anyone else says or how people may try to influence the way you do things, it’s ultimately down to you.” – Zoe Sugg.

After reading Zoe’s first novel approximately two months ago, Girl Online (reviewed here), I was excited for the release of Girl Online On Tour which follows the story of Penny and Noah, the characters Zoe made us fall in love with in her first book.

It wasn’t until the book came out that I realised how much I was actually looking forward to it. As a result of this, I hadn’t pre-ordered it, so after it having been out for a whole day I had to physically go out and search for it because I didn’t want to have to wait for a delivery to arrive.

In this book Penny and Noah go on tour, Noah’s first tour in fact. Throughout the novel the couple come across ups and down as well as new characters whilst travelling through Europe. I especially loved the addition of Alex! It was also nice seeing the character of Leah, but she always worried me. I kept expecting her to mess things up for Penny, so I was always on edge, but I needn’t have worried and now I really like her.

Of course, with the good characters, we came across a couple of bad ones, giving the book an element of mystery which I greatly enjoyed. I remember there being a long time close to the end since “TheRealTruth” had been mentioned and it worried me that it would never be resolved, but fear not, we get all our questions answered in the end. There is nothing worse than an author mentioning something and it playing on your mind, only to never be mentioned again. Thankfully, Zoe has not done that.

Speaking of the end, while a part of me wasn’t wholly satisfied, the literature lover within me was. I love it when books don’t have a concrete ending because it opens possibilities. It means that the author can pick up the characters from where they left off if they choose to in the future, or it means that the reader can take from the author’s ending what they want and imagine something which makes them happy. Honestly, I’m just very happy that Alexiot are okay.

I really love the way Zoe writes. Zoe is known, not only as a Youtuber, but as a blogger which really helps with this novel as she is able to channel her inner blogger when Penny is writing her blog posts. This means that the novel reads well and everything flows together as she obviously has experience writing. One thing I noticed from Girl Online which I loved and also see in this novel is Zoe’s use of similes because they are unique and generate brilliant images in your brain. Furthermore, I liked the reference to Harry Potter (there had to be at least one!) because Harry Potter references never fail to make me smile.

Some of the things I want to say are already written in my review of Girl Online, such as my thoughts on Penny and mental health. However, I want to emphasise how wonderfully written Penny is. Penny is a very relateable character to myself and I bet a lot of teenagers and other people who have experience with anxiety. This makes her an easy character to understand and root for throughout the whole book.

Overall, I do not think I enjoyed this as much as Girl Online, but I still rate it 4/5 as I cannot deny that I really liked it which is evident through my ability to read all of it in almost one sitting (unfortunately, I had to take a break for dinner). Girl Online On Tour is easy to read and I would definitely recommend it to other teenagers who enjoy a mix of young adult and romance.

What are your opinions on Zoe’s new book?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “Review: Girl Online On Tour by Zoe Sugg.

  1. NaomiEdge17 says:

    I love your review! Your not going to love every charactor or every part of the book, I don’t thats ever possible. I love that your honesty too. Im really excited to read Zoe’s second book and see how it ends/continues!

    Liked by 1 person

      • NaomiEdge17 says:

        Your welcome! 😊 Yeah exactly, and I think you always associate with certain characters over others! No its not! Thankyou, i’ll let you know! 😊 Im goanna order online with a few other books as a pay day treat 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. LyfWithEm says:

    I read it the day it came out because I was excited for it too. And I’m glad I read it! A brilliant, enjoyable read for any girl 11+. Penny’s story captured me so much and I’m really hoping for a third book from Zoe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bethsbookishcorner says:

    I love it. Just finished it and it’s amazing! I’ll be posting a mini review in my wrap-up this month so you can read more of what I thought then if you want to ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

