Back to the Future Day.

back to the future“Marty McFly: Where are we? When are we?
Doc: We’re descending toward Hill Valley, California, at 4:29 pm, on Wednesday, October 21st, 2015.
Marty McFly: 2015? You mean we’re in the future?
Jennifer: Future? Marty, what do you mean? How can we be in the future?
Marty McFly: Uh, Jennifer, um, I don’t know how to tell you this, but I… you’re in a time machine.
Jennifer: And this is the year ‘2015’?
Doc: October 21st, 2015.” – Back to the Future Part Two.

I haven’t yet looked, but I am anticipating a lot of Back to the Future themed posts today, I mean it is all over twitter and the news. I also woke up this morning pleasantly surprised to find that ITV2 are showing all three Back to the Future movies, so if you didn’t know, part two is currently on TV.

Back to the Future is one of those classic films which everyone has watched at least a hundred times by now, but we’ll still be happy to sit and watch it another hundred times. Because of this it is hardly surprising that everyone is excited and willingly dedicating a significant date to the films.

In case you have been living under a rock for the past thirty years, here is a summary of the first film:

A young man is accidentally sent 30 years into the past in a time-travelling DeLorean invented by his friend, Dr. Emmett Brown, and must make sure his high-school-age parents unite in order to save his own existence.

back to the future 2This first film was followed by two sequels which any Back to the Future fan will also have watched excessively.

When Marty visits 2015 the world looks different to the real 2015 we’re all experiencing today. No self-lacing shoes (which I’m sure one of my best friends would love to be real) and no hoverboards (how disappointing, although my life is probably safer without them). However, apparently Nike are working on the former and while they aren’t hoverboards, the closest we have right now are Segways, although they are banned in public in the UK. Saying this, despite Segways having wheels, they do demonstrate how far we have progressed since the eighties.

back to the future 3It is getting on in the day as it’s currently 19:30 and I have yet to begin my Back to the Future marathon so I am going to end my post here, but I am going to leave you with a video. MoLifeTV posted a video a few hours ago featuring Adam Rose driving the DeLorean. Adam is an actor who I in fact met over the weekend at a Supernatural convention (a post for which will be up tomorrow) so watching this not only made me happy because it was him and you can see how excited he was, but because I knew I’d be watching the movies later on. Also, for anyone curious, Adam plays Aaron Bass in the episode “Everybody Hates Hitler” in season eight.

So, here is the video:

I hope you enjoyed this post, please follow me on here and my social media accounts linked below in order to be notified on future posts including tomorrow’s about a Supernatural convention and in the meantime I will be watching Back to the Future.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin

One thought on “Back to the Future Day.

Leave a Reply

