Movie: Submarine.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – H. Jackson Brown Jr.

submarineLast week I published a review of the book Submarine by Joe Dunthorne. I did not have a high opinion of this book, but I had heard that the movie was better, so I decided still to watch it. Many of my friends have spoken of either/both the movie and book Submarine over the past few years, so I decided to give it a go. I found the book to be very disappointing and honestly, the film wasn’t much better.

Can someone please explain to me why this book/movie is so loved?

My favourite character in the book was probably Lloyd and that is only because I feel like I can understand and relate to him due to his depression. The rest of the characters I hated and I didn’t understand at all. They would do things and they would make no sense to me, especially in the case of the main character. Is it me? I’m usually a really open-minded and understanding person, but for the life of me I cannot understand why people enjoyed this book and movie.

If you were to compare the book and movie there were a lot of differences, but there were also lots of similarities which I am sure many of those who read the book appreciated. However, I try not to judge movies based on how far they match up to the book because more often than not, it’s not possible.

There is one thing I would really like to point out about this movie. It’s not exactly a big thing, but I found it really disturbing and weird. When the screen went blank and showed that we were moving onto the next part of the movie, really creepy and dramatic music played at the same time as the titles saying “part two” etc. This gave the impression that I was watching a horror movie and this movie was far from a horror movie, so I find it difficult to comprehend why that music was placed there. Even more so because the rest of the music played in the film was rather indie (is that the right genre? I must admit, music isn’t my speciality at all).

In a few areas, I zoned out a bit. Alike to the book, this movie did not capture my interest and I couldn’t wait for it to be over. I think the only reason I suffered through the film is just so that I can say to my friends that I’ve watched it, even if I did hate it. It also teaches me to be a little wary of movies they recommend in the future.

What were your thoughts on Submarine, whether this be the book or movie?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Movie: Submarine.

Leave a Reply

