Book Storage.

“Book collecting is an obsession, an occupation, a disease, an addiction, a fascination, an absurdity, a fate. It is not a hobby. Those who do it must do it.” – Jeanette Winterson.

Due to my lack of book review on Monday, I didn’t want you guys to miss out on a book related post this week. As a result of this, today I am going to talk about books in general, rather than a specific one.

Not all of us can own beautiful bookshelves displaying every single book we own like those in a library. Hopefully, one day we can, but this can be difficult to achieve when you still live with your mum.

Today, I am going to present to you where I store all of my books. Obviously, I cannot go through all those that I own in a blog post – I don’t even know how many I own – as it would take a very long time and you probably wouldn’t want to read through all of it. Next time my books are looking a little messy and I reorganise them though, I will remember to count (I for one would be interested to know how many books are in my collection).

Whole viewMy books are stored in my wardrobe. I have a walk-in wardrobe and when we moved in almost three years ago, there were these box-like shelves (I haven’t a clue what to call them). The people who previously lived here used them for clothing and shoes. I use them for books (and the bottom one for CD’s and DVD’s). What I love about these boxes is that I can fit a lot of books into them. However, this means that you cannot see many of the books because the boxes are about three books deep.

Recently, I went through all of my books. I organised them, making them look nice and neat in their little boxes. And to my surprise, and my mum’s joy, I got rid of a few. We’re anticipating a move in the hopefully near future and one of my mum’s worries was how we would move all of the books. Saying that, I only got rid of three. Two I gave to my best friend and the third was an Anthropology related book I didn’t particularly enjoy and I would probably never have a use for again.

Box 1Similar to a lot of bookshelves, mine is organised alphabetically by author and due to the design of what I use as my bookcase, you can’t actually see what the first book is. If I remember correctly, it is Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.

The only time I don’t use the alphabet is in the case of a series as I like to keep them in the order in which they are either set, or written by the author. For example on my first shelf we have a stack of Cassandra Clare books in the order in which the books are set, with The Infernal Devices at the top. I also have the Shadowhunter’s Codex and The Bane Chronicles, but because they are rather big books they are at the bottom of the pile, plus they were published after the others.

With my books I try and keep authors in the same box as much as possible, so this can sometimes mean a tight fit (not good for the books, I know) or empty spaces in some areas. Also, due to the annoying size of these boxes, I think it’s impossible to find a way for my books to fill the whole space. If the boxes were only a few centimetres taller, I would be able to stand two books up, one on top of the other.

Harry PotterBeing a massive Harry Potter fan, I have a lot of Harry Potter merchandise. This means that it takes up a lot of room, so I’ve actually had to make a single box dedicated just to Harry Potter in order to keep the books and some items together. Oops. Also, please excuse the dust in the photo!

As you can see, I have all of the books, the movies as well as a couple of chocolate frog cartons, a deathly hallows necklace and keyring (broken), a Wand Week badge from the studio tour and Sirius Black’s wand.

Below I have a couple more photos, close-ups of the other two boxes in which I store my books. Unfortunately, it was really difficult to get really good quality photos for this post because there is no natural lighting in the wardrobe due to the absence of a window, therefore there may be a yellow and darkish tinge to these images, though they still came out a lot better than I expected.

Box 2Box 3

I hope you enjoyed seeing how I store my books (my read ones at least) and I will be back with a new post on Sunday night. Hopefully, I will also have a book review to post on Monday (I have no idea if I’ll have time to do any reading in the next three days, but fingers crossed and I’ll keep you updated on Twitter) so please follow to see these upcoming posts and/or follow me on a different social media platform linked at the bottom of this post.

How do you store your books?

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram | Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Book Storage.

Leave a Reply

