Fall Out Boy.

“Am I more than you bargained for yet?
I’ve been dying to tell you anything you want to hear
Cause that’s just who I am this week” – Fall Out Boy.

FOB8If you follow me on Twitter you will know that I went to see Fall Out Boy on Tuesday. If you don’t, then it’s never too late to do so as I find that it’s a very useful way to keep you updated on blog things and related content.

For anyone unaware of Fall Out Boy, they are an American rock band formed in 2001 and consisting of four members: Patrick Stump, Pete Wentz, Joe Trohman and Andy Hurley.

FOB10I have been a fan of this band for years now, ever since I heard Dance, Dance, and I was extremely delighted when they got back together after splitting up, then even more so when I found out that they were touring in the UK early this year. I remember I had just gotten home from my last concert and I was eager to go to another, so I was scrolling through event websites and one of the first names I saw was Fall Out Boy and less than twenty four hours later I had purchased tickets for my best friend and I.

The concert was at the Barclaycard Arena in Birmingham. This meant an hour and a half drive from where I live and it wasn’t until we were about halfway there that we managed to get the stereo working allowing us to listen to a Fall Out Boy CD, only increasing our excitement. We arrived at approximately 14:30, without a clue as to where to go until we were directed to an underground car park where people were queuing for wristbands so that they could join the queue into the venue. I don’t know about you, but I thought this was very strange and have never known a concert like it, but we were one of the first three hundred people through that door which was rather satisfying to know, especially after having queued in the rain for 2-3 hours.

Charley MarleyWe were finally let into the venue at 18:00 and we were pretty close with a good view. Usually the time drags while you wait for the support act, but due to the wonderful atmosphere the time passed rather quickly as before we knew it, it was 19:00 and our first support act came on stage: Charley Marley.

Due to the fact that I am already anticipating this to be a long post (I have got quite a few photos) I am not going to go into much detail in regards to the acts, but you can easily search them on YouTube.

Matt and KimThe second support act were Matt and Kim from New York. I had previously looked them up on YouTube and wasn’t too keen, but they had so much energy that they really got the crowd going. Also, I must mention, they threw balloons into the crowd for people to blow up and throw about which was really fun; I love balloons.

Professor GreenThe final support act, I suppose rather well known in the UK, was Professor Green. I already knew he was the support for Fall Out Boy and as I wasn’t much of a fan I didn’t really have high hopes, but he was still somewhat entertaining and I particularly enjoyed his performance of Read All About It.

FOBFinally, it was time for Fall Out Boy to make an appearance at 21:03 (precise because I had my phone out ready to take photos). They opened with Sugar We’re Going Down (hence the lyric at the top) and while I could not possibly recall the entire setlist, the concert was incredible and I loved every single song they played and how they carried out their performance and all of the effects on stage.

As much as I enjoyed the concert, I did have a few low points – people can be so frustrating – but I am so proud of myself for making it through the entire thing. The last couple of months I have been struggling with anxiety more than I used to, particularly around people. As a result, I spent Monday worrying and scared of attending the concert, but I’m so glad I did. Sure, I had some girl’s extraordinarily long and curly hair bouncing into my face at one point, some guy forcefully pushing me and a girl who kept kicking her bag into the back of my legs (honestly, why would you bring a big bag to a concert?), but it’s a concert. While it’s normal to be annoyed by these things, it is inevitable when you are amongst a large crowd, especially when you’re near to the front.

I also felt like I was going to have a panic attack during the last half of the concert when I somehow ended up behind two tall men, although they fortunately didn’t obscure my vision much, I always find being surrounded by tall people to be very claustrophobic. Somehow, I managed to calm myself down, though I don’t know how. Have you ever tried to be really calm at a concert? It’s near impossible when you have loud, fast paced music vibrating the air around you, making it difficult to think and when everyone around you is jumping around and screaming. However, I made it through it and I refuse to let this put me off future concerts, but I am currently fine with waiting a little while before booking another.

Overall, Fall Out Boy were fantastic and this was very likely the best concert I have ever been to. Looking back, I still find it difficult to comprehend that I have seen Fall Out Boy as it was something I never would have expected to ever happen and I can’t believe that it has. If it wasn’t for the photos I took, I would have probably mistaken the night for a dream and if I ever get another chance to see them live, I will be jumping at it.

Are you a fan of Fall Out Boy? Check out some more of my photos below:

FOB2 FOB3 FOB4 FOB5 FOB6 FOB7

What was the last concert you went to, or even your first?

Let me know in the comments!

Also, I apologise for making a post which was meant to be focussed on Fall Out Boy into one partly about anxiety. However, it is World Mental Health Day on October 10th, so I am going to dedicate this post to Saturday since that is the only day of the week I never post.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram

4 thoughts on “Fall Out Boy.

Leave a Reply

