Autumnal Nail Art.

“My heart is drumming in my chest so hard it aches, but it’s the good kind of ache, like the feeling you get on the first real day of autumn, when the air is crisp and the leaves are all flaring at the edges and the wind smells just vaguely of smoke – like the end and the beginning of something all at once.” – Lauren Oliver.

I’ve spoken about autumnal lipsticks, but now we’re going to move onto autumnal nails. Due to the fact that I am hoping to get a load of Halloween nail art done for a separate post, I have found it surprisingly tricky to find and come up with nail designs just for autumn aside from leaves. As a result, I am going to begin with a couple of leaf designs.

autumn leaves

This first design was my favourite out of the two which I did: a close-up of autumn leaves. One thing I love about autumn is the colour changing of the leaves, especially since my favourite colours are shades of red and deep purples. For these nails I used a yellow, two shades of orange, a red and a dark purple as well as a black striper and cosmetic sponge. To create these nails I selected one colour to paint over the whole nail, then chose another colour to dab over the top with the sponge. Finally, I used a black striper to add the detail, making the nails appear more leaf-like.

falling leaves

The second leaf design was created to give the illusion of falling leaves, or even spread out leaves on a surface. I was unsure as to how to do these, so I tested out two similar ways, hence why the thumb is a little different. I started off with a nude base, then using different shades of red, orange and yellow from my Rio Professional Nail Art Kits used the dotting tool to create markings to resemble small leaves. On most of my nails I left it at this, but I also felt that it wasn’t enough, so on my thumb I added more detail by using a black striper from the same kit in order to outline the leaves. I think it looked better this way, but I didn’t continue the design on all of my nails because my black nail polish was too thick to use easily and therefore it didn’t cooperate very well.

Pumpkin

Autumn is very much associated with pumpkins. While Halloween is also associated with pumpkins, I haven’t put this design aside for that theme because these are not spooky pumpkins. Like before, I painted my nails with a nude nail polish, then using an orange nail polish I created the pumpkin on the end of my nail. Next, using a different shade of orange (I used an orange striper from the Rio Professional Nail Art Kit) I added detail by painting slightly rounded, vertical lines. I then used a black and green striper from the same brand to add the final touches.

green autumnal nails

My fourth autumn inspired nail art design was created using Essie‘s “fall in line” nail polish. This is a green nail polish which I felt was very autumnal and therefore I had been itching to use it this season and it took me forever to decide what to do with this colour. I started off painting my whole nail in this colour before deciding to pair it with something orangy and finally settled on gold (Seventeen‘s “Fury”) and used the brush to create a triangular shape at the bottom centre of my nail, then tidying the design by using a green striper (Rio Professional Nail Art Kit) to outline the gold.

Green plaid

The final autumnal design I am going to show you is one that some of you may have seen before, because I posted it back in my Stripe Inspired Nail Art post back in June. I have chosen to include this design again in this post because aside from pumpkins and leaves, another thing I associate with autumn is plaid. While I don’t restrict myself to wearing plaid at only certain points in the year, I feel that this pattern is  best suited to autumn than to any other season. Also, another reason I am showing this design again is because I have unfortunately not had the time to do any plaid designs recently, although if I did I would definitely make them red.

I hope you enjoyed these nails, which are your favourite?

If you enjoyed this post, please feel free to follow me here and/or on my other social media accounts, the links are attached below, for weekly nail art posts.

-driftinglexi

Twitter | Instagram

7 thoughts on “Autumnal Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

