Review: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.

“Worries find you easily enough without inviting them.” – Gillian Flynn.

dark placesFirst off, I’m sorry for posting this a lot later than usual, I have no idea where the day has gone, but I was determined to finish this book and write a review for it tonight.

After having read and enjoyed two other books written by Flynn (Gone Girl and Sharp Objects) I couldn’t wait to read this one, another crime thriller. Similarly, Dark Places is very, well, dark, so I definitely recommend it for those who are more mature.

I have seen many people say that Dark Places was their favourite of Flynn’s work and while I don’t support that opinion, I still think this is a really good book. However, I personally think I preferred Gone Girl.

This novel follows Libby, the one surviving member of her family who were murdered (aside from her brother, imprisoned for the murders) twenty four years ago. Through the novel, Libby finds the motivation to finally uncover the truth about what happened that night after she realises that not everyone believes that her brother is guilty.

Flynn is a really good author. I love her writing style and her ability to create brilliant, but also very unlikeable, characters. At the beginning I really disliked Libby which made the book a little difficult to get into. However, the more I read the more interested I became and Libby really started to grow on me.

Dark Places is written in different perspectives, mostly from those of the Day family and they switch from the past to present day with every other chapter. I really liked this because you evenly got to see the parts where Libby was uncovering the truth and the real events and the order in which they happened until the end where everything finally made sense. The plot was somewhat predictable, but that didn’t impact the pleasure of reading this book, especially considering that there were still some surprises along the way.

I’m keeping this review a little shorter than my usual ones because it is almost midnight and I have to be up early in the morning. So, overall I would rate this book 4/5. I really liked this book, it was gripping for the most part and kept me interested by both sparking my curiosity and satisfying it. There was a bit of the book which I didn’t feel made sense, but for fear of spoiling the ending I won’t go into detail. I would recommend this book to lovers of crime books and thrillers as well as other people who have enjoyed Flynn’s other books.

What were your thoughts on Dark Places? Have you read any of Flynn’s other books, which was your favourite?

-driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “Review: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.

Leave a Reply

