How To: Gradient Nails.

Nail Art Wednesdays Gradient.jpg

“I should get 365 different t-shirts made up, each a slightly different color than the last, forming a gradient from green to blue. Then I should take a daily picture, and move down the color line accordingly, so that I can subtly age like a chameleon.” – Jarod Kintz.

My nails are a little short at the moment, so today I decided that with my most decent nail I will create a post on how to do gradient nails.

What you needThere are multiple ways to create a gradient effect, but I have found the most effective way to be sponging. Here is what you will need:

  • Cosmetics sponge
  • White nail polish
  • Two nail polishes of any colour, I have chosen two shades of orange by Barry M named Satsuma and Mango.
  • Additionally, you will need a top and base coat. I use Sally Hansen’s Double Duty Base and Top Coat.

paint nails whiteAs usual, begin with a base coat and when dry paint your nails with the white nail polish.

White nail polish tends to be rather thin, but only one coat is needed. Because I had already been wearing white nail polish the day before, some of it had chipped, so I actually have two coats of white nail polish on to even out the nail again, but adding a second coat isn’t necessary overall.

paint nails using mangoNext I painted over the white with the lightest shade of my chosen nail polishes. For me this is the lighter orange in the shade Mango.

Some people sponge over the white with their colours, but I find that by having the lightest shade already on the nail it makes it easier to focus on sponging on and blending the darker shade into it as lighter colours don’t transfer onto the nail as well as darker ones.

mango and satsuma on spongeOnce the nail is dry you can prepare your sponge.

Using each of the coloured nail polishes, paint a stripe onto the cosmetics sponge, one below the other as shown in the photo to the left.

test on paperYou do not need to put a lot of nail polish on the sponge, but if you do you can sponge it off on some paper. I always do this anyway to see how the colours blend together before putting them on my nail. This can be seen in the image to the right.

sponge onto nailThe next step is getting the design on your nail. Position the sponge how your want the design and dab it across the nail as much as necessary until you are happy with the design.

As you can see in the photo to the left, the design is a little messy. This can easily be cleared up by dipping a cotton bud into nail polish remover. Unfortunately, I ran out of cotton buds when I was doing these so I wasn’t able to clean it up when I was taking the photos, but you can get the gist as to how the nail would look when done.

Doing these nails I discovered that I possibly didn’t choose the best shades to use, I would have been better off with a red rather than a darker orange, but I hope that this post is clear in describing how to do gradient nails.

To do see other gradient nails I have created please click here.

-driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “How To: Gradient Nails.

Leave a Reply

