The Pastry Book Tag.

For today’s Tag Tuesday I have been tagged by the lovely Whimsy Journals to do the Pastry Book Tag, which I hope isn’t going to make me hungry.

  1. hpatpsCroissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling.

I can never resist using Harry Potter in a book tag and while it is the obvious choice, it is an incredibly loved and popular series. Harry Potter will always be one of my all time favourites, so if I can use it in a book tag then I will!

Plus, Goblet of Fire has French students and croissants are French so there’s a lovely little connection between the question and this series.

the fellowship of the ring2. Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it at the end.

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien.

I am sure that a lot of people would agree that while The Hobbit was a pretty easy read, The Lord of the Rings series was a step up. Once you got into it, it became easier to read, but I did find it a little difficult when I picked up the first book. However, this series was definitely worth that little struggle at the beginning because The Lord of the Rings series is another favourite of mine.

Nirvana3. Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

Nirvana by J. R. Stewart.

The concept of the book was really good, so I had high hopes for it, but I was very disappointed with how it turned out.

I wasn’t particularly keen on the plot, and where it went, there wasn’t as much action as I would have expected and the characters didn’t really interest me very much.

eleanor and park4. Pain au chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell.

This question was difficult, but I’ve settled on Eleanor and Park because it wasn’t what I expected. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book and it turned out better than I could have hoped for, but I expected it to be your typical love story and while it had love, it wasn’t what I thought it would be. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the book and was glad it was written the way it was.

the night circus5. Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

I know that this is my third mention of this book within the past week on this blog, but I enjoyed this book so much and if I hadn’t spotted it in Waterstones I may have never been made aware of this book.

I’m sorry if I talk about this book a lot, but I really cannot help it.

john dies at the end6. Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.

John Dies at the End by David Wong.

It’s not so much that this book is complex, but it is really confusing and doesn’t make a whole lot of sense.

7. Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks.

dear johnA few years ago I picked up a few of Sparks’ books, especially this one because of the movie coming out starring Channing Tatum and Amanda Seyfried, two actors I love.

I found the book to be difficult to get into and rather boring and I much preferred the movie. However, I would like to point out that from Sparks’ other books (at least those I’ve read) I much preferred them to their movie adaptation.

perks8. Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

I had great pleasure reading this book and love it so much, but I also cannot read it without crying. I can’t even watch the film without crying, to be honest.

9. Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

city of bonesA very large portion of the books I read are set in America or a fictional world (or both), so this is difficult for me due to the massive quantity of possible books I could choose. As a result of this, I am going to pick…

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare.

The Mortal Instruments series starts off in America, but also ventures to the fictional world of Idris located in Europe.

This series is also another of my favourites I would like to add.

10. Pate a Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

This is a surprisingly tough one, as a result I am going to end this tag the same way I started it, with Harry Potter. Chocolate Frogs, Cauldron Cake, Pumpkin Pasties, Butterbeer (although that is a beverage) etc. I cannot pick just one!

Thank you for tagging me, Whimsy Journals, I really enjoyed this tag. Now it is my turn to tag some people, so I tag:

-driftinglexi

3 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag.

Leave a Reply

