Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

the night circus“A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.” – Oscar Wilde.

I have been looking forward to reading this book for a very long time. Ever since I first set my sights on the book in Waterstones approximately a year and a half ago I knew that I had to have it. It wasn’t until a year later that I finally bought it after having been drawn to it every time I visited the shop since. Having this book on my bedside table for the past few months and watching it slowly creep closer to the top of the pile made me more and more excited to read it and eventually it was at the very top of my stack.

Since I had been greatly anticipating the opportunity to read this book, I did start to get worried that I would end up disappointed by it. However, I am thrilled to be able to say that this book was as brilliant as I expected and so much more. This book has definitely become one of my favourite books.

There are several different covers for this book, all of which are beautiful despite the variations only being slightly different. I love the colour scheme, the figures on the front, the flashes of red and the stars, all of which are very applicable to the story itself. I love this story, but I also adore the book cover.

Now, onto the story…

The Night Circus follows the creation and maintenance of this very circus and revolves around several characters whose lives intervene more and more as the plot develops. This story has elements of fantasy and mystery and also some romance and while it occurs in the same world we all live in, the circus is like a world of its own to be explored, giving the book (and its characters) a lovely sense of adventure.

The perspectives of this book change with every new chapter, and sometimes within, giving fresh new outlooks of events which are happening at the same time in different locations and around different characters. Despite this description, reading the book is not difficult or confusing at all. The words just flow with each chapter providing new details on the circus. Often in books where the perspective changes, it can be difficult to enjoy them all, but when reading this book I was happy with whichever character I was reading about.

However, my favourite parts were written in second person, so it was written as if you were at the circus yourself. This is a beautiful way of engaging the reader by making them feel involved with the story in some way and is an effective way of describing scenes without taking a lot of attention away from what the characters are currently doing.

Morgenstern’s descriptions within the book, especially of the circus, were incredibly detailed and wonderful. Sometimes big chunks of descriptions can be boring, but the way she writes is captivating, urging you to read on and uncover as many details of the circus as possible. This book is magical and enchanting and a splendid read which left me wanting more.

I loved all of the characters to a degree, at least by the end, except for Hector. It is hard to determine a favourite as Morgenstern clearly did a good job of creating likeable characters. Celia, Marco, Bailey, Poppet and Widget are definitely at the top of the list, although in what order I cannot decide. I was pleasantly surprised to actually end up liking Alexander by the end of the book to some extent!

“The finest of pleasures are always the unexpected ones.”

One of the many important aspects of a book is the ending because you want to finish it with a good lasting impression. I was very satisfied with the ending of The Night Circus. Any loose ends were tied up, everything explained and basically a happy ending for everyone involved. What more could you want? I finished this book feeling happy and content and do not think it could have had a better ending.

The Night Circus was impressively gripping for a book of approximately five hundred pages and I am shocked to be able to say that I actually read it all in less than twenty four hours. Despite having now uncovered all the mystery within the book, it is one of those books I will definitely be rereading at some point in the future because I have enjoyed it so much and it has been a fantastic book to escape into.

I would rate this book 5/5 and recommend this to any lover of fantasy and/or circuses. I hope everyone who reads this enjoys it as much as I did.

What are your thoughts on The Night Circus?

-driftinglexi

13 thoughts on “Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

Leave a Reply

