Updates.

Hi guys,

This post is going to be a bit of a chatty one to keep you updated on what is currently going on in regards to driftinglexi and my life outside this blog.

Let’s start off with this blog:

This week I have created an extra page named RecommendationsThis is a place where I will basically list all of my favourite books, organised by genre, so if anyone is ever in need of a good book you can have a little browse. Also, feel free to let me know your favourite books in the comments.

Lately I have also been updating my Book Reviews page to make it a bit more interesting rather than a dull list. I created this page so that you can easily see all of my books reviews in one place and every time I publish a review I update the page.

This may seem odd to update you on, but unfortunately I haven’t exactly been the best at caring for my nails recently and one of them broke, so I trimmed the rest of them down. Because they are shorter now it makes it a little difficult to do nail art, so I’m sorry for any nails designs in the near future.

Next, life:

At the beginning of the month I confessed my struggles with depression and a couple of weeks ago I finally went to the doctors. Since then I have had a meeting with a counsellor and had to have a blood test. I honestly found having a blood test to be worse than my experience of having a tattoo, so if you want a tattoo and are put off from needles from blood tests etc. it isn’t that bad. However, do take into account that I only have two small tattoos. Anyway, I should be receiving the results from my blood test this week.

For those who have been following me for a little while, you may remember my summer goals, one of which was to start a nail course. I didn’t end up doing that over the summer, but I am going to do it now and the kit for the course should be arriving this week coming, so I am pretty excited.

I’m still searching for a job, but at least the nail course will keep me occupied so I’m not just sitting around reading all day (which I see as productive, but others may not). One thing that’s really frustrating me with this job hunt is that the few jobs I’ve seen I like the look of and think I could do are on the other side of town which would mean having to get more than one bus to get to work and last time I had to rely on buses to get to work I ended up having panic attacks and as a result being late to work. I don’t think I can go through that again.

In terms of reading I am currently about a quarter of the way through two books:

  • Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  • Alive by Scott Sigler.

One problem I have had lately is a pain in my wrist. I haven’t actually done anything to it, but there’s a pain there and frustratingly, it sometimes makes holding a book painful. This has slowed down my reading of Dark Places for the time being and instead I am watching the TV show Arrow. This is even more annoying though because I am enjoying the book.

For Alive I unfortunately do not own the actual book, rather I am listening to the audiobook on YouTube. There are twenty two episodes in total, each consisting of a few chapters of the book and a new episode is uploaded every week. I have just finished listening to episode six and I sometimes listen to it when I’m getting ready in the mornings. I am enjoying this book, although it seems to be very similar to The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

I hope you are all doing well and have had a lovely week.

What are you currently reading?

-driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “Updates.

Leave a Reply

