Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell.

Landline“Nobody’s lives just fit together. Fitting together is something you work at. It’s something you make happen – because you love each other.” – Rainbow Rowell

Previously, I have read and reviewed two other books by this very author, Rainbow Rowell. I really enjoyed Eleanor and Park and Fangirl, so I was very hopeful going into Landline. I can now happily say that Landline has not disappointed me.

Landline follows Georgie McCool whose marriage is in trouble and while they are apart, Georgie finds her old yellow telephone which allows her to speak to her husband, but back before they were married.

I am going to start with what I didn’t like about this book because I don’t want it to be the only thing you remember from this review. I really disliked the lack of explanation for how Georgie was able to speak to her husband, before he was her husband. How does the phone work? Why does it only work with him? What if she dialled some other number, would she talk to their past self too?

However, aside from that I really enjoyed the book. I liked the characters and their interactions with each other and the way Rowell has written them. Rowell is very good at creating characters. She is also really good at inserting Harry Potter references into her stories which I greatly enjoyed; they always make me smile.

Another indication that I really liked this book is from how quickly I read it. Lately, I have been struggling a bit to get into my current book, so I decided to take a break and picked Landline up since I was familiar with the author and it was quite short. As a result I ended up finishing the book within twenty four hours. I found this book really easy to get into, as with all of Rowell’s books, and found it difficult to stop when I had other things that needed doing. My time reading this book really flew by, but I finished it feeling somewhat satisfied and content.

The “somewhat satisfied and content” refers to the enjoyability of the story and how it ended with Georgie and Neal, all happy and such. However, there is my above point about the telephone, as well as the fact that I really loved Seth and feel a little sympathy for him because he didn’t have anyone and Georgie’s happy ending possibly cost them their show, although we do not know for sure.

Overall, I really liked this book, although not as much as Eleanor and Park and Fangirl. I would still recommend this to others who have enjoyed her previous works as it is a very good, well-written book with very likeable characters. Also, warning: there will be puppies, so prepare yourself for cuteness.

I rate this book 4/5.

-driftinglexi

5 thoughts on “Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell.

Leave a Reply

