Review: The Gilded Life of Matilda Duplaine by Alex Brunkhorst.

The Gilded Life of Matilda Duplaine“‘Supposed to’ is a terrible phrase because it’s always followed by something nice that didn’t happen.” – Alex Brunkhorst.

I received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley to read and review, giving my honest and unbiased opinion. This book is not yet out, but it is expected to be published October 8th.

First of all, I absolutely love the cover of this book. The colours are beautiful and go nicely and the cover is actually a scene from the book. Furthermore, it isn’t a movie cover. It is unusual for me to like book covers with people on, but I really like this one.

Now, let’s get onto the actual story. The Gilded Life of Matilda Duplaine follows the life of Thomas, a reporter. Through his job he meets Lily who introduces him to a world of exclusive parties and dinners in mansions and with movie stars and the like. Thomas then, accidentally, encounters Matilda and they fall in love, meanwhile Thomas is slowly revealing the mysteries of Matilda’s unique life.

This book surprised me. When I began reading it took me a little while to get into it, but by the time I finished the first third of the book, I was quite enjoying it. I suppose it didn’t help that it took a while for us to actually meet Matilda and therefore the beginning felt a little slow. Nevertheless, the book did eventually get my attention and I was interested and eager to uncover every word Brunkhorst has written.

My favourite character in the whole book has to be Lily. She was so lovely and while I criticise Thomas’ lack of honesty at several points throughout the story, I was really glad that he spared her the truth at the end. My opinions regarding Matilda often shifted and I am still unsure as to how I feel about her and I wasn’t particularly fond of her and Thomas’ relationship.

I loved the mystery aspect of this book. I love mysteries and the suspense associated, so I was really pleased with how this book turned out. I love explanations which aren’t too complicated, but complicated enough to make sense, which this does. Furthermore, the book allowed you to make your own guesses and then succeeded in proving you wrong. I was also very glad that the mystery was more central to the story than the romance as let’s be honest, the two main characters falling in love and living happily ever after does get a little boring.

I really liked this book and rate it 4/5. I would recommend this to people who love a good mystery with a bit of romance thrown in.

-driftinglexi

Leave a Reply

