Time of the Day Book Tag.

Today for Tag Tuesday I am doing the Time of the Day Book Tag. I was not tagged to do this by anyone, I just thought it looked fun. As a result I will not be tagging anybody at the end, but do feel free to do this if you fancy it. I love looking at the different responses people give to the same questions, so let me know if you do this tag as I will be happy to see your answers.

Let’s get started!

Gone Girl1. Time to wake up: A book that opened your eyes to a genre you didn’t previously read.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn opened me up to the genre of crime and I haven’t looked back since. I don’t recall having read many, or perhaps even any, crime books until Gone Girl, but after this book I decided that I would make an effort to do so.

I read Gone Girl last December and since then I have read a couple of crime books, including another book by Flynn.

a monster calls2. No time for breakfast: A book that has been sitting on your shelf for ages.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

I bought this book a good year and a half ago, but still haven’t read it. There have just been so many books to read that this one has gotten lost beneath them all.

I will get around to reading this eventually… And I look forward to when that day comes as I enjoyed reading Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy and More Than This.

3. Time to travel to work: A book you read whilst travelling.

I don’t really have much opportunity to read whilst travelling. I use buses when I meet up with friends, but the bag I tend to use is too small for books and reading in the car makes me travel sick. I very rarely use trains and I try to walk to places as best I can. This makes this question difficult for me, but if I was going to read a book whilst travelling I would just take whatever I am currently reading and at the time of this tag I am currently reading is Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff.

the silmarillion4. You’ve had a hard time at work: A book you struggled to get through.

The Silmarillion by J. R. R Tolkien.

As a matter of fact, I am still struggling to get through this book.

This book takes us deeper into Tolkien’s world of hobbits and elves etc. and is set long before the events of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.

The reason I am struggling with this book is that there are so many words/names which are difficult to pronounce, therefore making reading it hard.

hpatps5. Lunch time: A quick and easy read.

Either Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling, or The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. However, if it was Harry Potter it would have to be one of the first three books in the series as they get very big after that, I mean, have you seen the size of the Order of the Phoenix?!

This is because I’ve read them all so many times that I don’t necessarily need to finish it over the lunch break as I know everything that happens. Furthermore, they are quite short so I would most likely be able to finish it off in the evening.

the bone season6. Time for your performance review: A book you bought because of a review you read/watched.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.

It wasn’t exactly a review I saw that made me want to buy this book, but Carrie from Itswaypastmybedtime mentioned it in a video and was saying that she was really enjoying it so I decided to buy it.

Unfortunately, I have still not gotten round to reading this book, but I aim to have read it by the end of this year, so you can definitely expect a review on it at some point in the (hopefully near) future.

The Hobbit7. Time to travel home: A book that follows a character on some kind of journey.

The Hobbit is the first book which springs to mind when the words “journey” and “adventure” are involved.

The Hobbit is a beautiful book and one of those which you can easily reread, like with Harry Potter. I prefer The Hobbit to The Lord of the Rings because it is much easier to read and I prefer Bilbo over Frodo, so I chose the prequel for this question, rather than the trilogy, though both apply very well.

love letters to the dead8. Dinner time and conversation: A book you don’t hear people talk about much, but you loved.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira.

I really enjoyed this book, but I haven’t seen anyone talking about this at all. The only time I saw it mentioned online was in a tweet from Stephen Chbosky.

I don’t know if the reason people don’t talk about it is because people didn’t like it very much, or if they just didn’t read it, but I really liked it. If anyone is intrigued I have a review for this book here.

The Book Thef9. Time to zone out in front of the TV: Your favourite book that has been turned into a movie or TV show.

I could list so many books here, but I’ll go for one I haven’t mentioned yet and that is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

I really enjoyed this book and also the movie, though I know a lot of people didn’t enjoy the latter. I was even pleasantly surprised when my dad said he enjoyed the movie!

Also, I absolutely love the cover of this book from the illustration of Liesel dancing with death, to the colouring used and even the font.

10. Bedtime: The book that is currently on your nightstand.

Just one? I have sixteen.

We Were Liars11. Night-time: A book you couldn’t put down so you stayed up way too late reading.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

I haven’t mentioned this book in quite a while! This book was very enjoyable and had a massive plot twist at the end. To read my review of this book please click here.

As I said at the beginning, I am not tagging anybody to do this, but that doesn’t mean you can’t do it if you want to. If you do I would be interested in your responses so feel free to let me know that you’ve done it and I’ll check your post out.

-driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “Time of the Day Book Tag.

Leave a Reply

