Book Favourites for September.

“Every time you post something online you have a choice. You can either make it something that adds to the happiness levels in the world – or you can make it something that takes away from them.” – Zoe Sugg.

The last time I wrote about some of my favourite books was back in June, already three months ago! Since then I have read a great deal of books, so here are my five favourite books out of the ones I have read over the last three months:

love letters to the deadLove Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira.

This book is a epistolary novel, meaning it is written in the form of letters. I love books written in this way, another example being The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. As a matter of fact, it’s at Chbosky’s recommendation that I chose to read this book.

Love Letters to the Dead is a series of letters written by Laurel to people who have died, such as famous singers. These letters follow Laurel’s year at school where she makes new friends, has her first boyfriend and reflects on the past, including the unearthing of the night her sister died.

the woman in blackThe Woman in Black by Susan Hill.

I am sure that a lot of us are familiar with the story of The Woman in Black. This is a ghost story following Arthur who starts seeing the Woman in Black. When he is working at Eel Marsh House he sees her again and becomes interested in discovering who she is and what is happening within the house and in the marsh.

If you haven’t read the book, you likely heard of the film starring Daniel Radcliffe. I definitely recommend reading the book, it is so much better and so much scarier when all of the imagery is left to your imagination, making it a thrilling and chilling read.

me earl etcMe and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews.

Our narrator, Greg, and Earl make movies in their spare time, but when Rachel is diagnosed with leukaemia, Greg’s mother forces him to spend time with her. A friendship forms between Greg, Earl and Rachel and as her health deteriorates, Greg and Earl make her a movie, pushing Greg into the spotlight, a place he had always been careful to avoid.

The movie adaptation of this book is now also out at the cinema, so I look forward to watching it. I really enjoyed reading the book and couldn’t put it down all day. If you enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars by John Green you are likely to enjoy this too.

Michael McIntyreLife and Laughing: My Story by Michael McIntyre.

Michael McIntyre is my favourite comedian so I was very much looking forward to reading his book and it did not disappoint.

Michael’s book follows his life so far and tells us of his journey of becoming a comedian. It is very funny, it has pictures and it is interesting.

I definitely recommend this book to other fans of the comedian as well as to anyone who aspires to be a comedian.

Girl OnlineGirl Online by Zoe Sugg.

This is the only book in this list which I do not yet have a review up for; however, it will be up on this Monday coming. As a result, I am going to go into more detail about this book.

Despite the plot being predictable for the most part, I found this book very enjoyable to read and I loved it. Girl Online is the story of Penny, a girl who suffers from panic attacks and runs an anonymous blog, who travels to New York and falls in love with Noah. Of course, it doesn’t end there. While Penny is hiding her blog, Noah is hiding his true identity…

Zoe’s book addresses real life problems, has a sense of adventure, as well as humour, and it is well written. Zoe has spoken before in her YouTube videos about having anxiety and she has used her experiences to create a character who has to deal with panic attacks, but also finds ways to cope with them as the book goes on.

I recommend this book to teenagers and young adults, whether or not you are a fan of Zoe. However, if you are a fan of Zoe you should definitely read this.

At the beginning of this post I said I had five favourite books, which is true to an extent. I’m cheating slightly and excluding this next book from the list because it is a reread and an obvious favourite of mine. However, this next book I have read since my last Book Favourites, so I have chosen to include it as an extra.

hpatpsHarry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

I reread this to celebrate the birthdays of the main character, Harry, and the author on July 31st and as an all time favourite I had to include this book.

Recently, I also reread Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on September 1st as a celebration for the return to Hogwarts. Wow, I sound really sentimental, don’t I?

A summary of this book is not really necessary, but if for some reason you have not yet read Harry Potter then you must go and do so immediately.

What are your current book favourites?

-driftinglexi

One thought on “Book Favourites for September.

Leave a Reply

