I Write Because…

“I write to discover what the pen reveals.” – Belinda O.

This month I signed up for Writing 101. The first assignment sent out a few days ago was about why we write and acts as a prompt for writing itself. I had been debating whether or not I was going to write this, but today I decided that I will. Who knows what I might discover?

The quote used in today’s post is taken from Belinda’s blog – I hope she doesn’t mind – which was also in response to this assignment. When I read her post on this topic, I found that I related to it. When I decide I want to write I often don’t know what I want to write about, I just open up a document and type. It’ll start off being silly, pointless sentences, almost diary-like, but then I get into it and I find it very therapeutic. When I think I often dip in and out of different thoughts, I find it difficult to focus, so writing gives me one thought to concentrate on basically like I’m taking it out of my head and placing it in Dumbledore’s pensieve.

Right now, I don’t have many explanations for why I write, but let’s see where this post takes us…

I write because it’s a way to organise my thoughts. I like order and control, and I often feel like there are so many thoughts jumping around my head that I can’t keep track of them all which leads to them jumping further and further away until they leave my head completely. As a result this makes me a little forgetful sometimes, so I write to remember and I write to clear my mind.

I write because I am not a strong speaker. My physics coursework a couple of years ago involved a presentation and I made the entire class leave the room so I could, reluctantly, just give it in front of my teacher. When I did my GCSE’s, I accepted a D in  the speaking part of my coursework because I couldn’t face doing my speech again, despite my teacher’s insistence. I feel like speaking in front of people is a situation a lot of people are familiar with the discomfort of, as a result I’m sure you’ll understand when I say that writing is so much easier.

I write because I am shy and I hate attention, but I also have things I want to share, hence why I created this blog. I wanted to share my opinions on books and beauty products and my nail art in a way that I can still be a little anonymous as none of you have ever met me. Without writing, my opinions come across through mumbles, speaking fast, lots of stumbling over words and from a red, embarrassed face.

I write for you. I want to be informative with my posts to encourage you to read books I have enjoyed and find products that you might enjoy too. I want to present nail art designs so that those who share this passion can see them and give them inspiration or to assist them in recreating the designs if they wish to. I want to share my experiences in the hope that you’ll see them and want to go there too, or so, if you can’t you can still have a way of experiencing it through my posts.

Lastly, I write for me. Writing helps me and as I mentioned, it’s therapeutic and acts as an escape by giving me something specific to focus on. Writing means that I can get my thoughts out there without fear for how people may react. Writing enables me to come to conclusions whether this be in terms of my feelings, or when I need to make a decision.

Why do you write?

-driftinglexi

3 thoughts on “I Write Because…

  1. Herl says:

    Great post! We all have different reason why we write or why we blog. I write because it is part of my soul. This is where people can get to know me deeply even without hearing me speak. Cause when we write we just let our heart and hands do the work. Sometimes we never even noticed we already created a beautiful piece of work. ☺

    You are one of my awesome nominees for Liebster Award. If you have time I hope you can check it.

    https://shutterinkdiary.wordpress.com/2015/09/10/liebster-award-a-little-piece-of-awesomeness-2/

    Thank you awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

