Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling.

hpatcos“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” – J. K. Rowling.

Earlier this week we began the month of September and September 1st is a significant day for us Potterheads as it means the return to Hogwarts, an event I dedicated a post to here. In honour of the return to Hogwarts, I picked up the second Harry Potter book for a reread after having reread the first one to celebrate Harry and J. K. Rowling’s birthday on July 31st, a review for which is here.

What I like about the second Harry Potter book is the mystery aspect. What is the Chamber of Secrets? Who opened it? What is in it? As a lover of crime and mystery books, it makes this book very exciting for me. Of course, rereading the book ruins the mystery, but nevertheless, when you reread it, it gives you an opportunity to see how the ending fits other events in the book e.g. Ginny’s behaviour.

However, what I don’t like about the second Harry Potter book is the presence of spiders. It’s bad enough seeing them in real life, but having to actually imagine them is dreadful because your brain has a habit of making things you are afraid of seem so much worse in your head. Due to my reaction to spiders, this is why this book is my least favourite of the series.

Another thing I don’t like about the book is how unrealistic it is. Before you all start, I am well aware that this is a fictional world where a good majority of the things mentioned do not exist. Surely, however, even in the wizarding world mothers are very protective of their children and wouldn’t go off ahead of them onto the platform. I know for sure that my mum would have ensured that my friend and I had gone through the barrier to Platform Nine and Three Quarters before thinking of going through herself. Maybe not if they were about fifteen, but Harry and Ron were only twelve, so to me it doesn’t make sense. I know that this is a rather silly thing to pick out, but I would imagine that a character like Molly Weasley would insist her children got onto the platform before her, besides, they’re the ones who have to catch the train, not her.

Now that little rant is over, I enjoyed this book as I enjoyed all of the books. It is so lovely to return to the wizarding world and revisiting Diagon Alley and Hogwarts and it’s exciting seeing the Burrow for the first time. It’s also very pleasant to read as when you watch the movies you forget that the books are actually rather funny at times; it’s not always so Sirius (hehe).

Rereading this book I was also reminded of humour through the use of poems. I cannot believe I forgot about all of the singing. I mean Peeves just loves making up silly, and rather horrible, rhymes, plus there is the dwarf who sings to Harry on Ginny’s behalf for Valentine’s Day.

Dobby closeAnother thing I love about the Chamber of Secrets is the introduction of Dobby. Dobby  is just so sweet and I just want to hug him.

As with all Harry Potter books, this book gets a 5/5 rating from me.

How do you rank Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets? Is it one of your most favourites or least favourites of the series?

For the rest of my Harry Potter reviews please click here.

-driftinglexi

7 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling.

  1. LyfWithEm says:

    It’s one of my favourites! My favourite is the first book – it’s such a good beginning into the wizarding world and my least favourite is the Goblet of Fire, I find it so long and boring – not a fan of the movie either!x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

