Back to School Nail Art.

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon

September has begun which unfortunately means the beginning of another school year. Luckily, I no longer attend school, so these nails are in memory of those days and to share my sympathies with those who still do. Okay, it’s not that bad, but I also wouldn’t want to go back.

School chalkboard

This first nail design is a chalkboard nail design, one of two. For these I used a matte black nail polish with a white striper from the Rio Professional Nail Art Kit. For the photo I used a black and white filter because the white striper wasn’t matte and if you’re going to do chalkboard nails, you need matte nail polish.

From left to right, on each nail I did a hashtag, exclamation mark, grid for noughts and crosses, question mark and some maths symbols.

Chalkboard nails

My second chalkboard nail design was created using the Revlon Nail Art Chalkboard Overachiever. This nail product is double ended, one side is a regular brush in a matte black polish, while the other end is a purply, chalky colour on a striper brush.

For this set of nails, from left to right, I did a smiley face, a heart, a swirl, star, noughts and crosses (well, nought and crosses). And I must point out that I am very proud of that heart as they usually come out really messy (just wait until Valentine’s Day next year when I will be doing some Valentine’s nails).

HP uniform

This next design is Harry Potter related, as you can see from the fact that I am holding one of the DVD’s. This is a school uniform nail art design inspired by the Hogwarts houses in Harry Potter. We have green for Slytherin, blue for Ravenclaw, red for Gryffindor and yellow for Hufflepuff. If my nails were bigger and would have allowed for a little extra detail I would have also added a few stripes to the ties.

All of the nail polishes used to create this design come from the Rio Professional Nail Art Kit.
I also used these nail polishes for the most part in order to create this next design: apple nails.

Apple

This design would also fit into my fruit nails theme, but firstly, I only painted them a few days ago, and secondly, they also fit the theme of school. For anyone confused, it was considered a way to get on your teacher’s good side if you brought an apple for them. Please excuse the mess around my nails, I always find red to be a messy colour to work with.

Notepad

I love stationary, especially notebooks, so I couldn’t help but paint some notepad inspired nails. Unfortunately, the designs on my notebooks are either too difficult to replicate or far too simple, so I settled for notepad paper for this final design.

This notepad nails design is rather simple as it consists of stripes over a white background. Originally, I was going to use a black in order to make hole-punched holes in the margin, but because my index fingernail is a little shorter than the rest I decided to leave them as they are.

Those are all of my back to school nail art designs. Good luck to everyone beginning a new academic year, whether you be joining a new school, college, or university, or just starting a new year.

Which back to school nail art design was your favourite?

-driftinglexi

5 thoughts on “Back to School Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

