August Book Haul.

August book haul“So many books, so little time.” – Frank Zappa.

Unfortunately, due to the many books on my bedside table I haven’t actually bought many books this month. However, I couldn’t help, but buy a few. The few I bought includes:

  • The Odyssey by Homer.
  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell.
  • I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.
  • Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews.

The OdysseyThe Odyssey by Homer:

As someone who greatly enjoyed reading The Iliad, even after having studied it for a year at A level, I had to buy The Odyssey. I also chose this copy because a) look at it, it’s beautiful, b) it matches my hardback Clothbound Classics copy of The Iliad and c) it is by the same translator as the one I read for The Iliad. 

As you can tell, I haven’t yet read this book. As a result I am inserting the synopsis from Goodreads:

The epic tale of Odysseus and his ten-year journey home after the Trojan War forms one of the earliest and greatest works of Western literature. Confronted by natural and supernatural threats – shipwrecks, battles, monsters and the implacable enmity of the sea-god Poseidon – Odysseus must use his wit and native cunning if he is to reach his homeland safely and overcome the obstacles that, even there, await him.

LandlineLandline by Rainbow Rowell:

I love Rowell’s previous books. I have reviewed Eleanor and Park and Fangirl and I greatly enjoyed them so I cannot wait to read Landline.

The Goodread’s synopsis says:

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

I'll give you the sunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson:

I have heard a lot about Nelson so I cannot wait to read this. In fact, I still need to buy and read The Sky is Everywhere, maybe next time I’m out book shopping…

Here is Goodread’s description:

Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

me earl etcMe and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews:

Anyone who has been following this blog for a little while will be aware of the fact that I have already read this book. As a result of this, the copy I have bought this month isn’t for myself, but for a friend. I hate lending books, especially ones I love, so I decided to buy a copy for my best friend. Also, the fact that it was Result’s Day when I bought it was a contributing factor.

I have already written about this book, so to read my review please click here. It is definitely a book I recommend, especially to people who like Young Adult books.

Those are all of the books I bought throughout August. What books did you buy?

The last thing I would like to mention before I sign off is that earlier this week I created a poll in this post, so if you haven’t responded to it already I would really appreciate you doing so. Even if you are new to this blog, I would be grateful as you can still check the box for what kind of posts you most enjoy reading about regardless of whether you have or not read them on this blog. Thank you for your time.

-driftinglexi

Leave a Reply

