Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick.

Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick“‎Lipstick is really magical. It holds more than a waxy bit of color – it holds the promise of a brilliant smile, a brilliant day, both literally and figuratively.” – Roberta Gately.

The first thing I want to point out about this post is that this will be my first makeup review. I write reviews for books about twice a week, but I have never done one for makeup. I have really been enjoying the Revlon Ultra HD Lipsticks lately and I decided that for my first review it would be a good starting point to discuss something I really like.

Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick bottomThis lipstick is available in a range of fourteen different shades including pinks, corals, reds and nudes and each lipstick is priced at £7.99. I now own five of these fourteen lipsticks which I will provide swatches for further on.

In the past I have never been very fussed with Revlon lipsticks. I never found them to be particularly long lasting, I wasn’t keen on their colour range. Moreover, I often found some of the lipsticks to appear rather patchy on the lips as well as very drying.

So, why did I decide to buy a new Revlon lipstick? Because I love red lipsticks and cannot get enough of them. I have been searching for a dark red lipstick, one without any pink tones. Earlier this year I bought a dark red lipstick, went out, had a photo taken and looked online the next day and noticed that my lipstick appeared pink. As a result of this, when I set my eyes on the shade Dahlia, I fell in love with it.

Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick swatchesThe picture to the left displays the five shades I bought. From top to bottom they are:

  • 820 Petunia.
  • 830 Rose.
  • 875 Gladiolus.
  • 890 Dahlia.
  • 850 Iris.

This photo doesn’t really do the colours justice as they are actually brighter than the image suggests, especially Petunia and Gladiolus.

I love these lipsticks; they glide on smoothly, smell delicious – like mango – and are the most moisturising lipstick I have ever worn. Usually when I apply lipstick I have to exfoliate my lips, but there’s no need with this product. If your lips are dry and cracked, they won’t be for long once this lipstick is on your lips.

My only disappointment for this product is the packaging. This is because it looks very cheap and easily breakable. I know this is only a drugstore makeup brand, but the packaging of their other products, for the same price, look a whole lot more durable as well as prettier.

Overall, the packaging, while a little disappointing, is not enough to put me off the lipstick. The product itself is suitable for everyday wear, especially given the lighter shades, as well as nightwear. They make my lips smell lovely and feel really soft and they are very affordable. I definitely recommend these.

What do you think of the Revlon Ultra HD Lipsticks?

Which shade is your favourite?

-driftinglexi

10 thoughts on “Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick.

Leave a Reply

