Review: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan.

the house of hades“But magic is neither good nor evil. It is a tool, like a knife. Is a knife evil? Only if the wielder is evil.” – Rick Riordan.

Before my holiday to Rome I reviewed The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan, the previous book in this series. Since then I read a couple of books, but I have now returned to finish this wonderful book series.

I just finished The House of Hades which means one book left! I’m excited and scared and everything in between. I am really enjoying this series, a lot more so than I had originally expected, and I cannot wait to see how it will end. This book is the fourth and continues the journey of our seven favourite demigods from where they left off.

As always, Riordan’s writing is filled with humour and action. So much happens in this book that I don’t know how to begin. I love how we have now seen each of the characters in a position of strength and leadership, they have each now been put into the spotlight, reinforcing their value as one of the seven demigods. Before this series Piper was never my favourite and in The Mark of Athena I began to like her more, but this book has made it clear how important and gifted she is. This is similarly done with Hazel, Frank and Leo throughout the book and as a result my love for each character has grown as their characters developed.

While on the topic of the characters, another thing I loved about this book was the perspectives we were shown. In the previous books we saw perspectives from three or four of the seven demigods which was fine, but in this one we were able to see from all seven perspectives. This was great because the characters were not always in the same locations and it enables us to clearly see character development throughout this book and the previous ones of the series. Furthermore, it provides a better view of when certain characters are fighting their individual battles.

Similar to all of Riordan’s books regarding Greek Gods, I love the addition of new characters from Greek myths including Gods especially he hasn’t before mentioned, such as Hecate. The Gods we mostly tend to be familiar with (e.g. Zeus, Hera etc.) we can picture as people, but in this series we have Gaea who is the earth, Nyx, the night and Tartarus,a place who also appears as a person. It puts the battle, the war, on a greater scale with such huge elements involved and it’s interesting to also see them represented as people. Characters like Gaea and Tartatus etc. are so complex and it’s unique to have people who can be pictured in more than one form.

In my last review for this series I exclaimed how I loved that the book took us to a new location: Italy. I similarly love this in The House of Hades and how within it our characters also venture further. At the beginning they are still in Italy, but then they venture to places, such as Croatia, and plus there is Tartarus and there is still more travelling to be done in the next book which I am very much looking forward to. On this note, while I could talk more on this book, I will end this review here for fear of babbling on too long.

I rate this book 5/5 and definitely recommend it if you have read all of the previous books in the series. If you have never read anything by Rick Riordan I recommend it to you too, but I also suggest starting with the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series first. Trust me, it’ll make you love all of the Greek demigods so much more.

“I figure the world is basically a machine. I don’t know who made it, if it was the Fates, or the gods, or the capital-G god or whatever. But it chugs along the way it’s supposed to most of the time. Sure, little pieces break off and stuff goes haywire once in a while, but mostly… things happen for a reason.”

-driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “Review: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

