Summer Inspired Nail Art.

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.” – John Steinbeck.

August means summer. In the UK, summer mostly means rain with a few rays of sunshine at odd intervals. Nevertheless, we still associate summer with warm weather and clear skies, trips to the beach, cold treats and, unfortunately, bugs.

Ice lolly

My first summer inspired nail art design are ice lollies. I love ice lollies and clearly couldn’t resist taking a bite out of one of them!

One of the first signs to me that indicate that it is summer is hearing the familiar jingle of the ice cream van driving through the streets. While I don’t tend to buy from them any more, they will always remind me of my childhood.

I remember that when I was younger, my friends and I would always buy bubblegum from the ice cream man and build up a bubblegum stash. We ended up with so much at the end of the summer that I don’t think we ever actually chewed our way through it all.

Bee

This next design is a very old one and done during a time in which I used to experiment on each of my nails, hence why this photo is only of a single nail.

Here we have a bee, not my favourite aspect of summer, but them and wasps (which are 100% worse) are everywhere when the sun is out.

This design was created using my black and white stripers from the Rio Professional Nail Art Kit which you have all heard me mention so many times now that you can probably already guess that I’ve used it in all of my designs.

Nautical

My third and final design are some nautical nails. While you could probably get away with these almost any time of the year, they always feel most appropriate in the summer.

This is a very recent design (it’s on my nails as I type this) and it is one that I had put off for a long time due to my worry over drawing the anchor, but I think it went pretty well in the end. If not, it looks like a stick man in a canoe which still feels a little summery.

I am sorry to only have three designs this week rather than my usual five. I really wanted to do a summer inspired nail art post and all of the designs I wanted to try out I didn’t end up having time for due to my holiday and my nails requiring some healing time as they were in such bad condition in July.

If there are any nail art designs you would be interested in seeing I welcome suggestions in the comments, I am always on the lookout for inspiration.

-driftinglexi

3 thoughts on “Summer Inspired Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

