The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag.

Last week What’s She Reading? did a book tag and while she didn’t specifically tag anyone, I have tagged myself.

How long have you been a blogger?

I actually started blogging in 2013. My earliest posts are still actually on this blog, but I struggled to find inspiration and eventually gave up. However, a few months ago I reunited with my blog through my love of books and this time around it is going so much better now that I have found topics I love to write about.

 At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

I’ve gone into this blog hoping that it’s something I’ll be able to continue to do for as long as possible. After all, I see no sign that I’ll stop reading any books any time in the near or distant future, so why should I stop writing reviews?

What’s the best thing about blogging?

One of the best things about blogging is that it provides the space and opportunity for you to write whatever you want and are thinking and sending it out into the wide, wide world. I love this because it enables people to connect through shared interests and opinions and it opens up your mind to lots of different perspectives and interests.

What’s the worst thing about blogging?

This is a tricky one because of how much I enjoy blogging. One thing I dislike is how easy it is to become preoccupied with stats. Every now and then I will have a little analysis of how my blog is doing and while this is good if you want to improve your blog, it can also distract you from the things you love blogging about most if those posts are not as popular. For example, my nail posts are more popular than my book reviews, but I love writing about books so I try and not let these figures discourage me.

How long does it take for you to find/create pictures for your post?

Ten minutes max. For my Friday Favourites posts I always try and do an overall photo of all of the items being featured, so sometimes it can take a little while to find the best lighting and layout for all of the objects, but I try not to dwell on it too much.

Who is your book crush?

This is difficult, so I am going to pick a book crush from books I have read so far this year. As much as I love Cath, I also love her boyfriend. Sorry Cath, but my book crush is Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

J. K. Rowling, of course. Then again, if I was given the opportunity to interview her I doubt I would be able to form words.

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

Just whatever I’m wearing, I don’t put on anything special.

How long does it take you to prepare?

As in prepare a post? It depends on what kind of post it is and I’ve never really timed myself. When I plan on writing a post I usually allow myself an hour though I often overrun and take breaks. The longest post it has ever taken me to prepare is Rome, it took hours, but I enjoyed writing it so much as I could relive my experiences.

How do you feel about the book/blogger community?

Pretty positive about it. Those I know are really kind and supportive, although I am not very much integrated into the community.

What should be done to achieve a successful blog?

Write about what you love. If you are not interested in writing something, it will be difficult for readers to maintain an interest in reading it. In a lot cases your passion for something really shows in your writing and the words you use and if it’s a post you’re not particularly into, it’s likely to show. Also, tag everything as it gives you the opportunity to be found by those who are interested in similar topics as you.

Similar to What’s She Reading? I am not going to specifically tag anyone for the post, but feel free to take part if you wish.

-driftinglexi

One thought on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag.

Leave a Reply

