Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

hpatps“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” – J. K. Rowling.

A few days ago was July 31st so I decided to put all of my books on hold and picked up the first Harry Potter book for a reread. Why? Because, July 31st 2015 marks Harry Potter’s 35th birthday and the incredible and inspiring author, Rowling’s, 50th birthday, so I had to celebrate somehow.

In case it isn’t obvious, I am a big fan of Harry Potter. This means that you will not be surprised to hear that I absolutely love this book, but let me tell you why.

The Wizarding World is magical, and who doesn’t like magic? Things which are out of this world are always fascinating to read about and the concept of wizards and witches who go to a special school grasped my attention immediately. Fantasy is definitely one of my favourite genres because it can give the author so much freedom to go almost anywhere with their story and as a result the story can progress in very unexpected ways with new creatures and spells you will definitely not be familiar with.

The characters. Harry does make me laugh sometimes.

‘Do you mean ter tell me,’ he growled at the Dursleys, ‘that this boy – this boy! – knows nothin’ abou’ – about ANYTHING?’
Harry thought this was going a bit far. He had been to school, after all, and his marks weren’t bad.
‘I know some things,’ he said. ‘I can, you know, do maths and stuff.’

Each character is unique and well-rounded and Rowling’s creativity in creating these characters and this whole world, even down to the different types of sweets is so imaginative and detailed and it is truly no wonder why so many people love these books so much.

This first book is a favourite because without it, where would we be? If it wasn’t for this first book we wouldn’t have read any of the others, nor would the series have been made into eight really good movies. I love Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for introducing me to the Wizarding World and all of these characters I have read about (and watched in the movies). I always find it difficult when people ask what my favourite book in the series is because as much as I love Sirius and Remus in The Prisoner of Azkaban and The Order of the Phoenix this was the book that started it all off and it will always have a special place in my heart.

This won’t be any surprise to you all, but I rate this book 5/5.

More quotes from the book:

  • “To the well-organised mind, death is but the next great adventure.”
  • “The trouble is, humans do have a knack of choosing precisely those things which are worst for them.”
  • “Fear of a name increases fear of the thing itself.”

Are you a Harry Potter fan?

What is your favourite quote from Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone?

For the rest of my Harry Potter reviews please click here.

– driftinglexi

10 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

Leave a Reply

