July Favourites.

“My two favourite things in life are libraries and bicycles. They both move people forward without wasting anything. The perfect day: riding a bike to the library.” – Peter Golkin.

July favouritesIt’s the end of the month again and that means July Favourites. It was a struggle to remember what I enjoyed this month because it has flown by so quickly that I barely remember anything. According to my diary I went shopping a couple of times, but I can barely recall it actually happening. Nevertheless, a few items have surfaced to my memory throughout today as well as some old finds that I have found myself enjoying once again.

Firstly, I doubt any of you missed the Harry Potter book in the photo, so I thought I would cover this first. Yes, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling is my first favourite. On July 31st every year I like to try and read the first Harry Potter book for two reasons: it’s Harry Potter’s birthday and it’s J. K. Rowling’s birthday. Of course, I don’t just stop at the first book, once I start I read them all, but I can’t read all seven books on the last day of July and write a blog post about it.

On the subject of books, my second July Favourite is Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. I read this book near the beginning of the month and loved it. You can read my review of this book here. Let me know if you’ve read it and what you thought!

No7 Sweet chestnutNo7 Match Made Moisture Drench Lipstick in Sweet Chestnut. No7 is a Boots own brand and one which I had never actually thought of buying from before. However, this year when Boots were dishing out their vouchers for £3 off makeup, I was tempted and bought a couple. I was pleasantly surprised by these lipsticks so early this month I decided to buy another and I have been really enjoying it.  This is a difficult shade to describe; it’s a red, but not a bright red. It’s dark, but coral-ly at the same time. There are also many shades like it in the collection so you can easily pick and choose the one which best suits you.

Bourjois Delice de Poudre Bronzing Powder Medium/Dark. I don’t wear much bronzer so last year when I received a free Rimmel bronzer it lasted a long time (in fact, I still haven’t hit pan on it). However, I stopped using this bronzer when the packaging broke last month and instead I picked up this one from Bourjois. I have seen plenty of people raving about this bronzer and I can see why. I love the packaging – it resembles a chocolate bar! – and it even smells lovely – coconut, I think – and, of course, it applies well with a gorgeous colour. I often found my Rimmel bronzer a little too orange so I am extremely glad to have finally moved onto this one and definitely recommend it as a drugstore bronzer.

My final favourite displayed in the photo are my FitFlops. These shoes are extraordinarily comfy. They are ideal for summer and long walks and were definitely a lifesaver from all of my walking when I was in Rome last week. The walking already made my feet ache, but if I wasn’t wearing these then they would have hurt a whole lot more from walking about the Vatican etc. These shoes are actually an old favourite as well. I had a pair years ago (they were sparkly) and at the beginning of the summer this year I realised I had no comfortable pair of sandals for the warm weather so my mum gave me a pair of hers (she used to have a rather big collection).

Unsurprisingly, my last favourite is the city of Rome. I would love to go back and four days in the Eternal City was really not enough. I probably went a bit overboard in my post on my travels in Rome yesterday describing everything single thing and including lots of photos. However, if you are interested in checking that post out please click here.

What are your July Favourites?

– driftinglexi

One thought on “July Favourites.

Leave a Reply

