Black and White Nail Art.

“Words dazzle and deceive because they are mimed by the face. But black words on a white page are the soul laid bare.” – Guy de Maupassant.

Sometimes no one can deny the allure of black and white nails, I certainly cannot. In fact, the first time I had my nails professionally done with gels I succumbed to the classic black and white nail art. However, these nails I am going to share with you are all going to be painted by myself.

Black and white mix

This first set of nails is from when I was first trying my hand at nail art. I was eager to try out various designs so I decided to do each fingernail differently in black and white. We have some stripes, some spots and a little bit of glitter.

Black and white lines

This design on the left is another example of my experimenting with different designs per nail.

At the time of this design I was still excited about using my stripers, hence all of the lines. Looking back, I realise that my index finger could have done with a few more stripes of black.

You can also tell that this design is rather early in my “nail art career” from the wobbliness of some of the lines, but diagonals are always a little more tricky.

Suits

Now, this third design is a personal favourite and I hope you all like it too.

These are my suit nails and they are possibly the only design I have ever done twice because of how much I liked them.

In addition to this, they are lovely to wear for more formal occasions, for instance I painted these for my brother’s graduation.

For this design, as with all of them, I used the Rio Professional Nail Art Kit. The black striper allowed me to create all of the detail, including the bows and the dotting tool was used for the buttons on the shirt.

Jigsaw

This next design is a jigsaw design.

This was created by painting a white background and using a black striper to paint a cross, dividing each nail into four parts. I then filled in diagonally opposite corners in black with the same striper. Next I used a dotting tool to create the jigsaw appearance.

For all of the above designs you can obviously use any white nail polish. I personally use so many different ones every time that I couldn’t share all of the different ones I have used in my designs. However, one of my favourites has been from Maybelline’s Color Show collection.

Stickmen

My final design happened somewhat randomly. Here we have stickmen nails for which the idea came from my inability to draw actual people.

This time I used black as my background colour and created the stickmen with the white polish from my Rio Professional Nail Art Kit as it is both a striper and dotting tool in one. As you can probably tell from the photo, I drew their bodies with the striper and used the dotting tool for their heads.

Black and white nails are a favourite of mine so you can definitely expect more in the future. However, this is all for now.

I hope you enjoyed this post, which black and white design was your favourite?

– driftinglexi

One thought on “Black and White Nail Art.

Leave a Reply

