Sunshine Blogger Award.

Last week I was nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award by Every Word You Say. Unfortunately, it has taken me a little while to get around to doing this since I have been in Rome, but I’m here now.

Thank you so much to Every Word You Say. Everyone please check out her blog, her posts are truly worth a read.

UPDATE: I have also been nominated for this award by the lovely Miss Ky. Thank you so much for this nomination and similar to Every Word You Say, I recommend having a look at Miss Ky’s blog.

The rules:

  • Thank the people/person who nominated you.
  • Answer the questions from your nominators.
  • Nominate eleven other bloggers and give them eleven questions.

The questions from Every Word You Say:

1. If you could live your life again, would you change anything?

If you had asked me this two years ago I would have responded saying that I wish I had chosen different courses to take during my first year of college because I absolutely hated it. However, this year I realised that I do not regret it because one of my best friends now I met through one of those courses as well as other people I became really great friends with, even if it was only for the duration of college. Now, when I look back, I may see that I have gone through bad times, but I feel like I came out a better person because of it and while I still struggle in some aspects, I find that it makes me so much more appreciative and grateful for all of the goods things in life.

Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars.” – Kahlil Gibran

2. What’s your biggest achievement?

I am not entirely sure. Academically, it would be an A* in a biology GCSE exam, especially since in school I was a B average student. I find that achievements are difficult to classify as big or small sometimes because they can be so diverse though when I think achievement, my first thought just jumps to educational achievement, hence that’s my first answer.

I also feel like I have achieved a lot socially. Right now I have three incredible best friends as well as other friends who I love and am so grateful for. However, it wasn’t always like this. When I was sixteen, my best friend of twelve years and I fell out and to an extent it was for the better as I always felt like she was judging me for everything I did and it made me feel like I was a bit of an outsider and a freak. I felt like I couldn’t truly be myself. Less than a month later I started college and I had been given the push I needed to get certain people out of my life. That September I was in a friendship group where I felt invisible. Barely anyone seemed to talk to me and when I tried to contribute to conversations, because the group was so big, my shy, quiet voice, couldn’t be heard which only made me feel worse. As a result, by October I was a part of a completely new friendship group and while I didn’t enjoy my courses fully, I did enjoy my free periods with my friends who I had things in common with. This was a big achievement for me because I had never been apart of a friendship group before where I fully felt included and wanted and before I attended college I would never have had the courage to seek one out as I have always been one to stay in my comfort zone, sticking to what I’m familiar with and used to.

3. What’s your biggest fear?

This is a difficult one because, honestly, I am afraid of a lot of things. I am terrified of almost anything with a mind of its own, but especially spiders and wasps. I suppose I’m not exactly terrified of people, but I am very paranoid and cautious. The weekend before last I had to get a taxi from my friends house to my own by myself, it was only a five to ten minute drive, but I was very on edge. I was gripping my phone as if my life depended on it, almost aggressively texting my friend so that I didn’t feel alone. Fortunately, she was a fast replier. I even jumped out of the taxi at the earliest possible moment, even though it meant walking an extra ten minutes when my feet were very sore and even then I was on the phone to my best friend.

4. When was your last “first time”? (As in when was the last time you tried something new?)

Well, last week was my first time to Italy! And it was my first holiday just me and my dad as in the past I had only ever been away with my mum, dad and brother.

5. If your life was a movie/book, what would the title be?

To be honest, I would probably call it drifting lexi and it would most likely be a book.

6. Do you have a secret talent?

No, I don’t think so. Some people would say my nail art, but I don’t know. I’ll let you be the judge of that.

7. If you could know one fact/statistic about everyone you met, what would that fact/statistic be?

I would probably want to know what their favourite TV show or book was. Whenever I meet people I always worry about it being awkward and having nothing to say. This means that if I knew what they liked we could hopefully discuss it.

8. What’s your favourite movie?

Yikes! This is a tricky one. Do I go Disney? Musical? Harry Potter? The possibilities are endless! I am going to go for The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I have watched this movie probably more times than any other movie. When I first bought it I watched it about four times in the first week. It is also the only one of two movies that has ever actually made me cry (the other being Moulin Rouge). Furthermore, this movie has some of my favourite actors: Emma Watson, Logan Lerman and Nina Dobrev. Also, I must mention that I also loved the book.

9. What’s your favourite piece of clothing you own?

Without a doubt, my favourite piece of clothing is my blue checked shirt. I just love this shirt so much. I was hoping to post a photo of it, but it is in the wash (it’s always in the wash as I wear it as much as possible).

10. If you could have a fictional character as a friend, who would you have?

As a proud Ravenclaw, part of me wants to say Luna Lovegood, and while I agree we would make good friends, I don’t think we’d click as much as with other characters, such as Hermione who is a good friend and loves books. However, I also think that Fred and George Weasley would make spectacular friends because you would always be in fits of laughter, there would never be a dull moment around those two, plus they’re brave and loyal.

11. What was the last dream (or nightmare) you had about?

Be prepared, this is going to be a little long…

I rarely remember my dreams, but the last one I remember having is from two weeks ago. This dream was very strange, I went to my grandparents house (which didn’t look like my grandparents house at all) with my family and my best friend (this best friend often flickered from my two best friends Megan and Sophie).

We all went for a walk along a path somewhere surrounded by trees. My parents had gone ahead (for some reason they were still together) and my brother, my best friend in Sophie form and I encountered a wolf with a black and sparkly coat of fur. My brother and Sophie turned around to leave and I stroked the wolf and a round pearl/diamond-like stone fell into my hand. I told the wolf to leave, he did, and I pocketed the stone. We then arrived back at the house and like a horror movie there was something banging on the doors and Sophie and I were really scared and some dark ghostlike figures surrounded us. I put my hand into my pocket and grasped the stone wishing for help and the wolf from before crashed through the window (on the second floor) and scared the ghosts away.

Next thing I know my best friend, Megan, and I are walking into a shop with black walls covered in art. It was a tattoo parlour, but there were also bits of jewellery on stands and I was admiring the rings. Megan wandered ahead of me and I was thinking of getting a tattoo. I went to go and catch up with her and she had just had one on her foot and the guy who did it took a photo of it, then, for some bizarre reason, he asked me if he could take photos of my feet. Still in the tattoo parlour, the image jumped to the front of the shop where everyone who worked there as well as Megan, myself and other customers (one of which was a childhood friend I used to live by) were around the till. All of us customers were in a queue which we all kept rejoining as at the till, the tattoo artists were giving out Indian food. I am not entirely sure what happened after I finished a naan bread dipped in curry sauce, but I remember that there had been another appearance from the wolf and then I woke up oddly feeling full as if I had just eaten a curry in real life.

If anyone has any idea as to what that dream could possibly mean I would be very interested to know as it was so freaky.

Now, let’s move away from the weirdness so that I can Miss Ky’s questions and then reveal the bloggers I nominate for the award.

The questions from Miss Ky:

What is your favourite movie?

I don’t exactly have a favourite movie, but the one I have watched the most is The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I was absolutely obsessed with it when it was first released.

Which one: Tent or Camper?

Honestly, neither. I much prefer the indoors, by which I mean the comfort of my bedroom.

Most embarrassing moment?

My gosh, I’ve been embarrassed so many times, but I cannot recall the worst time. I never fail to get embarrassed if I have to speak during class, but that’s definitely not the worst I’ve had it. Perhaps the experience was so traumatic that I’ve erased it from my mind.

What would you tell younger self?

I would tell my younger self never to be afraid to tell my mum how I feel and what I think. If I had been honest from the start, I feel like I could have avoided a lot of pain and anger over the past four years.

What are your future plans?

This question could not be asked at a better time because last night my mum and I sat down and tried to sort some things out. At this moment, my future plans involve taking a nail course so that hopefully in a few months I’ll be qualified to do people’s nails and perhaps work in a salon. Then I would like to do some travelling and depending on how my career in nails goes, I may take a course to do with psychology/counselling.

Favourite place to go?

A book shop, perhaps? Somewhere Harry Potter related?

Favourite person in the world?

My mum. I don’t think this needs any kind of justification.

Would you rather: have no internet or no cell phone?

No phone. Messaging works just as well as texting! Plus you can make calls through Skype and Facebook by using a tablet.

If you could do anything right now what would it be?

Hop on a plane and go travelling; I’d probably start in Paris.

What is your ideal date night?

Pizza is the way to my heart, so a lovely dinner at an Italian restaurant would be perfect.

What is some advice you would give to a little kid who looks up to you?

This is difficult because I don’t really know many people more than two years younger than me, except for a five month year old baby. That and the fact that I am an extremely pessimistic person, so I would probably have to steal some advice from someone else.

The bloggers:

Your questions:

1. Have you ever been to a concert, if so which was your first?

2. What was the last thing you watched on TV?

3. Name three things which make you happy.

4. What is your favourite thing about summer?

5. Spots or stripes?

6. What are you currently reading?

7. What movie are you next looking forward to being released?

8. Do you wear jewellery of any kind?

9. For how long have you been blogging?

10. What is your favourite fizzy/soft drink?

11. How many languages can you speak? What are they?

I hope you all enjoy answering the questions and thank you again to Every Word You Say and Miss Ky for this nomination.

– driftinglexi

14 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award.

  1. John Guillen says:

    I think it would be cool to meet Luna! But my worst fear, and this is so embarrassing, is roaches. I’m literally terrified of them. I just had a horrible experience with one the other day. I’m too embarrassed to go into details.

    Like

Leave a Reply

