Holiday.

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald.

I am going on holiday. As a matter of fact, this post is scheduled to be posted at my regular time in the evening so by the time you are reading this I will already be on holiday.

For ages now my dad and I have discussed going on holiday. There were a few issues though that prevented this: his job, me being at college and the important fact that I needed to renew my passport. As time goes on you sometimes start to lose a little hope that things you and someone else have talked about will actually happen. However, in the past month several things have occurred: my dad quit his job which he hated, I finished college and I eventually sorted out my passport. Next, we needed to decide dates where we were able to go on holiday.

Friday last week my dad sent me a text asking if I wanted to go away on Thursday, less than a week away. Of course, I jumped at the chance and it fit in rather well with my plans with my friends, so my dad booked it. I was very surprised at all of this happening so soon, but my dad said how we had been talking about it for so long that we practically had everything organised already. Besides, the more spontaneous trips are sometimes the best ones and this means that I won’t be waiting another month in order to visit a country I have always wanted to visit.

I have purposely dragged out this post, hoping to build a little suspense as I am sure that if anything you are interested in where I am going more than how it came about. I am therefore excited to announce that I will be in Italy for the next few days, Rome to be exact.

I am extremely excited as I have been dying to go to Italy for years and I cannot believe that it is finally happening. I know I am nineteen, but I am also very excited to go with my dad. My parents are divorced and I live with my mum, so I tend to see my dad about once every two weeks on average for a few hours and even then there are sometimes other people there. Because of this, I think it’ll be nice to spend a few days together in a country with a lot of culture and history which we are both interested in. My only dread is the fact that I’ll be sharing a room with someone who snores very loudly, but hopefully that has improved over the years.

Now, I am not completely abandoning my blog during this holiday. Although I haven’t had time to do a post scheduled for tomorrow’s Friday Favourites , I am only going away for four days. This means that I should be back Sunday night so it doesn’t interfere much with this blog as I don’t post on Saturdays and I only post on Sundays if I have done enough reading to do so.  However, since I don’t expect to read and review a book by Sunday, I have another post prepared in which I can introduce a new monthly feature on this blog. Also, I doubt I will have much opportunity to read recently published posts and respond to any comments until I get back.

Hopefully on the plane I will be able to do some reading and I look forward to being able to write about this trip so expect a post up this time next week on my adventures in Rome.

Have you ever been to Rome?

– driftinglexi

P. S. The Trevi Fountain is currently having work done; I am incredibly disappointed.

3 thoughts on “Holiday.

Leave a Reply

