Review: The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan.

“Percy slept like a medusa victim – which is to say, like a rock.” – Rick Riordan.the son of neptune

The Son of Neptune is the second book in the Heroes of Olympus series. On Monday I reviewed the first book here.

In this book we finally get to see Percy and what has happened to him whilst Jason has been with the Greeks. I actually enjoyed this book more than the first book, though this may just be down to Percy’s presence in this book.

Throughout the book we also encountered many new characters. There were the Romans and the Amazons, we saw the Roman side of Ares, Mars, and we were also reintroduced to old characters, such as Tyson and Nico. On the topic of characters, I really liked Hazel and Frank, possibly more so than I enjoyed Piper and Leo in The Lost Hero. It was also interesting to see Mars in his role as Frank’s father. (I don’t mind posting spoilers because this book was published approximately four years ago.)

The book was funny and witty, as Percy’s character always is. It was very interesting to read and imagine Camp Jupiter and how different is it to Camp Half-blood, though I would still prefer the latter. With new places comes new adventures and as long as camp is concerned, new quests which I loved experiencing with the characters.

In The Lost Hero I was still adjusting to the concept of Greek and Roman gods, but I now I am really enjoying them. I love how different cultures with almost the same beliefs have merged to create gods with various identities which only makes them more complex characters. After all, someone who is immortal and who has been around for centuries and centuries etc. is likely to have different parts to their identity.

Also, to compare this book to The Lost Hero, the writing is a lot better, in my opinion. In the first book the chapters changed perspective too often that you barely got a chance to properly get to know the characters and when you felt yourself getting deeper into them, the perspective would changed and you’d be yanked out and pushed into another character. Meanwhile, in this book I feel like we both got to read about the Percy we all know and love as well as get to know Hazel and Frank. I think this is a big part of why I prefer Hazel and Frank to Piper and Leo.

I rate this book 5/5.

What were your thoughts on The Son of Neptune?

“”I’m fine!” Percy yelled as he ran by, followed by a giant screaming bloody murder.”

– driftinglexi

5 thoughts on “Review: The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

