Review: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan.

the lost hero

“Jason scratched his head. “You named him Festus? You know that in Latin, ‘festus’ means ‘happy’? You want us to ride off to save the world on Happy the Dragon?” – Rick Riordan.

The Lost Hero is the first book from The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. Riordan is also the author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series which I read last year. I know I am a bit late on reading all of these books, but better late than never, right? I really enjoyed the first series and am happy to finally be making some progress with this second series.

Unsurprisingly, I don’t love this series as much as the first one, but I still really enjoyed it and especially recommend it to those who have read Percy Jackson and the Olympians. These books all have adventure, humour and mythology which work well together to create an entertaining story.

Last year I studied Classical Civilisations and part of the course focused on The Iliad. For any one that doesn’t know, this is an epic poem which focuses on a part of the Trojan War in which the Greek gods were involved. Since studying this book it has only made me love Greek mythology more so it was great to be reunited with the gods I’ve enjoyed learning about and now have more knowledge of by opening The Lost Hero.

A clear sign of a good book is the dedication to reading it. I have spent thirteen, almost consecutive, hours reading this over five hundred page book within a whole day. I love the characters and the plot and the writing. I liked how it changed perspective every so often which was especially good when our three main characters were in different places and this created tension and cliffhangers which kept you reading.

However, saying I love the characters may have been an overstatement. Sure, I enjoyed reading them, but they were also too perfect. Jason, son of the main god, has the unique ability to fly, manages to avoid death when anyone else wouldn’t have done so. Piper, modest, has another unique ability, miraculous recovery. Leo, funny, has another unique ability… Wow, what are the chances that three of the main characters are all friends who get along and just so happen to each have a unique ability? Hm…

Nevertheless, I did enjoy these characters. I liked the fact that their godly parents were different to those of the main characters in Percy Jackson and the Olympians. It was nice to see the other gods in their parenting (and Roman) roles which made me love the gods more. As a result of their lineage, we were also able to have main characters with different strengths, weaknesses and abilities.

I loved the first series and couldn’t get enough of Camp Half-blood, the demigods and gods and if you felt the same way I recommend this series. It probably isn’t necessary to have read the first series, but I would recommend reading that one first.

I rate this book 4/5.

– driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “Review: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan.

Leave a Reply

