Summer Sort Out and “New” Lipstick.

“Love blurs your vision; but after it recedes, you can see more clearly than ever. It’s like the tide going out, revealing whatever’s been thrown away and sunk: broken bottles, old gloves, rusting pop cans, nibbled fishbodies, bones. This is the kind of thing you see if you sit in the darkness with open eyes, not knowing the future. The ruin you’ve made.” – Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood.

I am a very organised person and love arranging the things I own in a particular way. However, over time space often becomes cluttered. After an eventful day with my friends yesterday I was too tired to do any reading, so I thought I would do something a bit more active to keep me awake by finding things to throw away in an attempt to help de-clutter my bedroom.

I don’t know about you, but I tend to receive loads of charity bags in the post and I feel bad throwing them away when I don’t have any clothes etc. to donate. I helped my best friend get rid of a load of clothes yesterday and decided that I would do the same today with my own. After all, it’s summer, so I need some summer clothes and places for them to go.

001To be honest, I went through my clothes surprisingly very fast. I was ruthless, grabbing items of clothing I definitely haven’t worn in the past three months and even some I haven’t worn in years. As a matter of fact, I even came across a cardigan which I never actually wore. As a result of this, I am now four scarves, three pairs of jeans, three cardigans, a jumper and a lot of t-shirts short. I really need to go shopping.

Once you get started with something, it can sometimes be difficult to stop, so did I stop with clothes? You guessed it, no. Next I moved onto a set of drawers which contained, well, I’m not even entirely sure. Pens, notepads, fans, stickers, school reports, diaries… There was no order to it whatsoever!

Fortunately, there are only three drawers so it didn’t take me too long to go through them, but I did also get very distracted. I found my leavers books from primary and secondary school which I skimmed through quickly, I found bouncy balls which of course I gave a little bounce, and I found a collection of photographs revolving around my mum, my brother and myself.

The next thing I discovered may be of interest to all of you beauty-enthusiasts as I found a lipstick. This lipstick is the Clinique Long Last Lipstick in Bamboo Pink. I was confused when I first saw it as I didn’t recognise it because I have never actually worn it. Furthermore, it is in a green tube rather than the silver one they use nowadays. This definitely highlights that I have had this lipstick sitting in my drawers for a long time.

003

In this swatch the lighting was a bit dark and makes the lipstick appear darker and more matte when, in fact, it is more light and shimmery which is evident in the swatch on my lips further down this post.

As a lover of lipsticks I instantly knew that I had to try this lipstick out. This lipstick is a pink nude. It is classified as a pink, but the colour is so subtle on the lips that it is a bit in-between a pink and a nude. The colour is very sheer with a lovely shine. In fact, the shade is very close to my natural lip colour which disappoints me because it makes me wish that I had discovered this lipstick sooner as all along it was sat in one of my drawers. This is a typical example of a “your lips, but better” lipstick.

The lipstick is also scentless on the lips and it feels almost like a lip balm. After a few hours my lips still felt soft and the lipstick even lasted for the most part after having eaten dinner.

bamboo pinkI have been very impressed with this lipstick and I can see myself wearing it in the future. However, it is a little pricey at £18 so I’m not entirely sure that it is one I would repurchase for this reason. Personally, if I had money to spare on a more expensive lipstick I would ideally go for much brighter and bold shades.

– driftinglexi

One thought on “Summer Sort Out and “New” Lipstick.

Leave a Reply

