How I Read Books Tag.

Another Tuesday, another tag… Today I am doing the How I Read Books Tag.

1. How do you find out about new books to read?

I find books through various ways. I’ll see photos on Instagram, people may send me recommendations on Twitter or in the comments of my blog, YouTube, I’ll read reviews or on Goodreads. If it’s an author I am very interested I may also periodically check their website or social media accounts for new books they are releasing or their own recommendations.

2. How did you get into reading?

I have loved reading ever since I can remember. My family have always liked reading and we would go on occasional trips to the local bookshop, Borders, which sadly doesn’t exist any more. My father would always be found in the crime section, my mother in romance and myself in the children’s section. My brother also liked reading to an extent, I mean, he did read all of the Harry Potter books which actually led to me reading them. As a matter of fact, my Harry Potter books originally belonged to him. I blame him for the reason that my copy of Deathly Hallows doesn’t match the covers of all of my other Harry Potter books.

3. How has your taste in books changed as you’ve gotten older?rainbow magic

I read a more diverse selection of books than I used to. When I was younger I loved anything to do with magic or Jacqueline Wilson. In fact, when I was a lot younger, my favourite series was the Rainbow Magic books by Daisy Meadows. As a little girl I didn’t realise that the series had a name, I mean you don’t always take notice of those things, but I know many people didn’t recognise them by that title so maybe the book cover on the right will spark some familiarity if you did read them. My friends and I always just called them “the fairy books”. However, as I started to grow older the series never seemed to stop so I never got around to reading them all.

4. How often do you buy books?

Whenever I pass a bookstore I cannot help but be sucked in. Sometimes this can be several times a week or a month, or during busy periods even less frequently. It varies a lot. I was in Waterstones last week and the next day I was walking by again and my friend refused to let me inside as I had only just bought two books so I was forced to look on longingly. If I am unable to go to a bookstore I will buy books online if I have nothing to read, but I do prefer going to an actual shop.

5. How did you get into book reviewing?

I love reading and writing, but I don’t have the ideas required to create my own world/characters/plot etc. so book reviewing means that I can read books and write about them since I can’t write my own. Furthermore, I always liked the idea of blogging so creating a blog and using it to post book reviews sounded ideal for me.

6. How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

I’ll put the book down for a bit and try to process what has happened, then I’ll try and write a review. By giving myself time to think about the ending I try and take everything into consideration to see if I can justify it. If I don’t like the end reviewing can take a few tries as I hate giving books low ratings and sometimes you come back thinking that it wasn’t as bad as you originally thought. Sometimes I will also look to see if the author has made any comments on the ending, perhaps explaining why the book had a particular ending. An example of this for me was Eleanor and Park and after reading Rowell’s thoughts I started to like the ending a whole lot more.

7. How often do you take a “sneak peak” at the end of a book to see if there is a happy ending?

I don’t necessarily check if there is a happy ending, but I do like to read the last words sometimes. I like to see how the ending is written e.g. does it end in a line spoken by the character, a thought, “I love you”, “the end”, the title of the book. However, I do sometimes get carried away and end up reading the whole of the last page.

In some cases, there are books with a lot of death and danger, such as City of Heavenly Fire where I had to have a little peek at the end to ensure the well-being of my favourite characters as sometimes you get part way through the book and you suddenly become scared, fearing for the lives of these characters you’ve come to love.

I only do this when reading physical books though. It is too much hassle when I am reading an ebook to keep scrolling through pages and back again.

8. Who are you going to tag?

I am going to tag everyone out there who is a book reviewer and anyone that just wants to do the tag.

– driftinglexi

2 thoughts on “How I Read Books Tag.

Leave a Reply

