Review: Burn Girl by Mandy Mikulencak.

burn girl“Sometimes we do stupid things in the name of love.” – Mandy Mikulencak.

I requested a copy of this book through NetGalley and the publisher thankfully accepted my request.

Burn Girl is the story of Arlie who is scarred after an explosion. Following the death of her mother, Arlie has to live with her uncle in his trailer. As Arlie starts experiencing a more normal life, she is tracked down by Lloyd, her stepfather and Arlie is prepared to do whatever she can in order to keep those she loves safe.

I enjoyed reading this book. I liked the characters, especially Mo and Frank. I liked the fact that this wasn’t a love story and there wasn’t a love triangle as in my opinion they are far overused in young adult books nowadays. Cody was a great character and the relationship between him and Arlie was lovely, especially at the beginning of the book when they were getting together, but I loved that fact that there was more to the book than their relationship. Nevertheless, it was cute and sweet.

I was happy that our villain of the story, Lloyd, got what he deserved in the end; however, the plot was rather predictable. The second Arlie realised that the text was written differently, I think we all knew what was about to happen and it was frustrating because despite how many times she has been told that she shouldn’t go off on her own, she still fails to listen and does it right until the end. Furthermore, I don’t feel like Lloyd’s motivation to go after Arlie was strong enough, I mean, she’s only a teenager and he’s expecting her to get him fifty grand?!

Overall, it is a good story with a lovely focus on friendships. It is well written with great characters and for the most part a good plot.

I rate this book 3/5 because I liked it and despite a couple of flaws, I do recommend it. The characters are developed and I couldn’t put it down. I spent the whole afternoon reading this, I was attached, and was almost in tears near the end.

For those interested in reading it, this book is due to be published on September 1st 2015.

– driftinglexi

Leave a Reply

